Magennis takes U23 Australian national time trial title

Liam Magennis was able to get the better of junior 2018 World Championship time trial silver medallist Lucas Plapp to win the under-23 Australian national time trial title in Buninyong, Victoria, on Tuesday, with Samuel Jenner taking third place.

Magennis, of the Drapac Cannondale Holistic Development Team – the feeder team to the WorldTour squad EF Education First Pro Cycling – was the second-to-last rider to leave the start house, with Jenner (Team Wiggins Le Col) setting off a minute behind him.

Plapp (InForm TM-Insight Make) had come in with a new best time, but none of the six riders to set off after him could beat it until Magennis streaked home to better it by 20 seconds, with Jenner's time – another 16 seconds back on Plapp – good enough for third on the 29.5km course.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Liam Magennis (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic Development Team00:38:03
2Lucas Plapp (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make0:00:20
3Samuel Jenner (Aus) Team Wiggins Le Col0:00:36
4Kelland O'Brien (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast0:00:39
5Alastair Christie-Johnston (Aus) Team BridgeLane0:01:17
6Riley Fleming (Aus) GPM-StulzRow 5 - Cell 2
7Sam Bascombe (Aus) Team Nero Bianchi0:01:53
8Michael Potter (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast0:02:40
9Tyler Lindorff (Aus) Team BridgeLane0:02:42
10Connor Sens (Aus) X-Speed United0:02:49
11Carter Turnbull (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make0:03:00
12Jordan Louis (Aus) Nero KOM Racing0:03:26
13Sebastian Presley (Aus) Oliver's Real Food Racing0:03:31
14Sebastian Berwick (Aus) St George Continental Team0:04:01
15Blake Quick (Aus) St George Continental Team0:04:06
16Rudy Porter (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make0:04:07
17Tom Gough (Aus)0:04:10
18Tom Benton (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make0:04:11
19Bentley Niquet-Olden (Aus) Team Nero Bianchi0:04:14
20Iven Bennett (Aus) Butterfields - Appselec p/b VDR0:04:18
21Lucas Hoffman (Aus)0:04:33
22Will Moloney-Morton (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make0:04:43
23David Williams (Aus) InForm TM-Insight Make0:06:06
24Lachlan Darch (Aus) Butterfields - Appselec p/b VDR0:06:09
25Patrick Brett (Aus)0:06:23
26William Pender-Buchan (Aus) MTOSS Racing0:06:25
27Aron Barclay (Aus)0:06:43
28Luke Wight (Aus)0:06:53
29Tristan Saunders (Aus) Butterfields - Appselec p/b VDR0:07:27
30Hayden Turton (Aus)0:07:41
31Matthew Harvey (Aus)0:08:46
DNFTimothy Harvey (Aus)Row 31 - Cell 2
DNSBen Metcalfe (Aus) Team BridgeLaneRow 32 - Cell 2
DNSNicholas White (Aus) Team BridgeLaneRow 33 - Cell 2
DNSHarry Sweeny (Aus) EvoProRow 34 - Cell 2
DNSNicholas Torney (Aus)Row 35 - Cell 2
DNSXavier Cooper (Aus)Row 36 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1