Skip to main content
Live coverage

Circuito de Getxo – Live coverage

circuito de getxo 2020

(Image credit: Circuito de Getxo)

Race home page


Hello and welcome to our live coverage of the Circuito de Getxo 2020, the third Spanish race to take place since the season restarted in late July.

It's a rainy day here in Getxo as we start our live coverage in medias res.

The riders are 2:40 up the road at the moment with 50km of racing gone.

This race is one for the puncheurs and punchy sprinters. Carlos Barbero, Diego Ulissi, Nacer Bouhanni and Giovanni Visconti have all won the race in recent years.

There are six laps of a circuit around Getxo for the first 152.5km of the race, with the Alto de Arkalanda (0.8km, 3.6 per cent) climb featuring on the circuit along with a climb across the finish line that measures in at 0.6km and 6.7 per cent gradient.

We have five WorldTour teams in the race today (Movistar, Bahrain McLaren, Trek-Segafredo, UAE Team Emirates and NTT Pro Cycling), as well as seven ProTeams (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Euskaltel-Euskadi, Nippo Delko One Provence, Burgos-BH, Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles, Novo Nordisk and Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec).

There are quite a few big names racing here today, too.

110km to go

Trek-Segafredo and Nippo Delko One Provence lead the peloton with UAE Team Emirates up front as well.

96km to go

Cobo leads the mountain competition with 6 points while Madrazo has 4 and Lazkano has 1.

The break is strung out on the flat as the pace is upped. All still together, though.

It's all calm at the moment. The break is working together while UAE Team Emirates lead the peloton.

80km to go

The gap between break and peloton is around two minutes.

72km to go

Fernando Gaviria drops back to chat with his DS Neil Stephens in the team car. All seems fine. A thumbs up for the Colombian.

The gap to the break remains steady at two minutes.

61km to go

Bahrain McLaren push the pace at the front as they head uphill towards the finish line. The gap is down to 1:40.

57km to go

A look at the peloton out on the road.

54km to go

Nobody was able to respond to the Basque rider, who jumped away as the peloton closed to within a minut of the break.

World champion Mads Pedersen has attacked from the peloton now. They're on the sixth ascent of the Arkalanda.

Pedersen catches and passes the remains of the break. Taminaux, Irizar and Cobo get on the Dane's wheel.

44km to go

Lazkano is going all-out here. Three climbs to go.

An Efapel rider has gone down in the peloton. It looks like Cesar Fonte. His right leg is hurting.

UAE Team Emirates continue to drive the peloton behind Lazkano.

41km to go

It's almost over for Lazkano. He's in his aero tuck but they're closing in.

35km to go

Attack from the peloton on the climb. It's a Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles rider.

More riders follow, and they catch Lazkano as he passes the finish line at the top of the climb. 

That injection pace has fractured the peloton.

There's a small group just off the front of the peloton on the descent, but it's a matter of metres rather than seconds.

Laurens Huys (Bingoal) and Juan Osorio (Burgos-BH) are among the riders attacking at the front.

30km to go

Nobody managed to create a lasting gap to the peloton.

Now a handful of riders go again. Six men are off the front.

28km to go

Alessandro Fedeli (Nippo) attacks on the final ascent of the Arkalanda. It's just him for now.

Juan Pedro Lopez (Trek-Segafredo) and Juan Irisarri (Caja Rural) are trying to bridge across.

Fedeli gets into a Froome-like aero tuck on the descent, determined to eke out an advantage.

20km to go

Landa gives a thumbs up to the camera. His team are still working up front.

18km to go

Just one climb left before the uphill finish now. It's the second-category Pike Bidea.

Measuring in at 2.2km at 9.1 per cent, the Pike Bidea is the toughest climb of the race, the only chance for any puncheurs or climbers to shed the sprinters before the end.

Pello Bilbao (Bahrain) is up front with Juan Pedro Lopez (Trek). Lazkano is somehow still up there too! What a ride from the Caja Rural man today.

The peloton is really falling apart on this climb. Biniam Grmay (Delko) pushes on, while Bilbao, Lopez and two others follow.

Gonzalo Serrano (Caja Rural) and Damiano Caruso (Bahrain) are the other men up front.

17km to go

They're back together with Serrano on the descent. A Movistar rider chases.

Nelson Oliveira is the Movistar man chasing the leaders. And he's made it across.

13km to go

We haven't had a time gap to the peloton yet. This group looks quite strong though – it wouldn't be a surprise to see them contest the finish.

Disaster in the break! Grmay, Lopez and Serrano have all crashed approaching a roundabout.

10km to go

15 seconds between the leaders and the peloton. It's just the two Bahrain riders and Oliveira up front now.

8km to go

6km to go

It looks like the time gap is about 20 seconds. The riders are on a long straight right now so they can see Caruso up ahead.

4km to go

Nizzolo is in that chase group, as is reigning champion Aberasturi.

Jasper Stuyven is in there too. No word on the likes of Haussler or Gaviria yet.

2km to go

1km to go

He's on the climb now. The chasing group follow, still around 10 seconds down.

300 metres to go and Caruso has this in the bag. A great move over the final climb from Bahrain McLaren.

And Caruso takes the win!

Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT Pro Cycling) and Eduard Prades (Movistar) totok second and third in the reduced sprint behind the Italian.

That's Caruso's first victory since stage 5 of the Settimana Coppi e Bartali back in 2013.

Last year's winner, Jon Aberasturi (Caja Rural) took fourth today, while Jasper Stuyven was fifth.

Caruso has a wealth of TTT victories to his name courtesy of his time at BMC, and he can also count top tens at the Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a España on his palmarès. It's good to see him get a win for himself though, after seven long years without one.

No full results just yet, but here's the top five

A look at the podium ceremony from today's race. 

That's all from us at the Circuito de Getxo today. It was a very good race with a dramatic run-in to the finish.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1