Zabel and Arndt cyclists of the year in Germany

Erik Zabel and Judith Arndt have been voted as Cyclists of the Year by the readers of the German magazine RadSport. Zabel, who finished second in Milan-San Remo and the World Championships, as well as fourth in the Olympic Road Race, netted 36.3 percent of the votes to beat young star and Tour of Germany winner Patrik Sinkewitz (23.4 percent) and national champion and Tour de France runner up Andreas Klöden (19.8 percent).

"I'm surprised that I was able to win this year, because in sporting terms everything didn't go so smoothly," said Zabel. "The RadSport readers have considered my consistency over the years. I'm very happy about this win, as it is an expression of the esteem that I am held in and my successes."

The women's category was practically a no-contest, with Olympic silver medalist and World Champion Judith Arndt netting 86.3 percent of the votes, ahead of German champion Petra Rossner (5.2 percent) and Olympic MTB bronze medalist Sabine Spitz (3.6 percent). "This vote has a lot of meaning for me," said Arndt. "It is feedback from the public, which shows me that they didn't react badly to me showing the middle finger out of anger in Athens."

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1