Which GC riders lost time on stage 5 time trial at the 2021 Tour de France

Tadej Pogacar at the Tour de France
Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) was the big winner on stage 5 of the Tour de France (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

After the major time losses and numerous crashes during the Grand Départ in Brittany, the fifth stage of the Tour de France brought another general classification flashpoint during the first week of the race.

The 27.2-kilometre time trial from Changé to Laval would be the first of two in this year's race, and provided another shakeup at the top of the standings, including a change in the race leadership.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification contenders after stage 5
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix 16:51:41
2Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:08
3Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 0:00:30
4Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:48
5Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana-Premier Tech 0:01:21
6Pierre Latour (Fra) TotalEnergies 0:01:28
7Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education-Nippo 0:01:29
8Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:43
9Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers 0:01:44
10Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:48
12Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:01:54
13Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:01:56
14Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:58
15Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:02:08
16Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana-Premier Tech 0:02:16
17David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:02:35
18Nairo Quintana (Col) Team Arkea-Samsic 0:02:45
19Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:02:55
20Sergio Higuita Garcia (Col) EF Education-Nippo 0:03:06
21Pello Bilbao Lopez De Armentia (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:03:24
22Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Team BikeExchange
24Sergio Henao Montoya (Col) Qhubeka-NextHash 0:03:55
25Richie Porte (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers 0:03:58
26Lucas Hamilton (Aus) Team BikeExchange 0:03:59
29Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:04:31
31Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Jumbo-Visma 0:04:39
33Ben O'Connor (Aus) AG2R Citroën Team 0:04:56
35Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis 0:05:17
36Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar Team 0:05:20
39Wout Poels (Ned) Bahrain Victorious 0:05:25
40Louis Meintjes (RSA) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux 0:05:40
58Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:10:13
61Simon Yates (GBr) Team BikeExchange 0:10:49
70Daniel Martin (Irl) Israel Start-up Nation 0:12:01
90Michael Woods (Can) Israel Start-up Nation 0:14:53
109Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers0:18:29

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Dani Ostanek
Senior News Writer

Dani Ostanek is Senior News Writer at Cyclingnews, having joined in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired full-time. Prior to joining the team, they had written for numerous major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly and Rouleur.


Dani has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France, Road World Championships, and the spring Classics. They have interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Mathieu van der Poel, Remco Evenepoel, and Demi Vollering.


As well as original reporting, news and feature writing, and production work, Dani also oversees How to Watch guides and works on The Leadout newsletter throughout the season. Their favourite races are the Giro d'Italia, Strade Bianche and Paris-Roubaix.


Season highlights from 2024 include reporting from Paris-Roubaix –  'Unless I'm in an ambulance, I'm finishing this race' – Cyrus Monk, the last man home at Paris-Roubaix – and the Tour de France – 'Disbelief', gratitude, and family – Mark Cavendish celebrates a record-breaking Tour de France sprint win.