Skip to main content

Tour Down Under 2016: start list

The 2016 Tour Down Under will be the curtain opener for many riders and their teams next season and will give us a chance to see riders in their new colours for the first time.

Richie Porte, Ryder Hesjedal, Mark Renshaw, Kiel Reijnen, Louis Meintjes and Peter Stetina are all expected to make their debuts with their new teams at the Australian WorldTour race, as are many others.

It’s still over a month before the riders roll out of Adelaide but with teams holding training camps, many have already confirmed their full line-ups for the Tour Down Under. Ag2r-La Mondiale, Astana, Lotto-Soudal and Trek Factory Racing are among the eight confirmed teams so far.

Despite rumours, home team Orica-GreenEdge have not made their starting seven public knowledge but Simon Gerrans and Caleb Ewan will definitely be in attendance come January 19. Other confirmed riders include Cameron Meyer and Rory Sutherland.

The Tour Down Under  begins in Prospect on January 19 and finishes in the centre of Adelaide on January 24. Click here to keep up to date with everything to do with the 2016 Tour Down Under and scroll down for the list of confirmed teams and riders.


Provisional start list

AG2R La Mondiale
Rider Name (Country) Team
Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu)
Cyril Gautier (Fra)
Alexis Gougeard (Fra)
Matteo Montaguti (Ita)
Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita)
Christophe Riblon (Fra)
Jesse Sergent (NZl)

Astana Pro Team
Rider Name (Country) Team
Maxat Ayazbayev (Kaz)
Lars Boom (Ned)
Laurens De Vreese (Bel)
Arman Kamyshev (Kaz)
Davide Malacarne (Ita)
Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Esp)
Lieuwe Westra (Ned)

BMC Racing Team
Rider Name (Country) Team
Marcus Burghardt (Ger)
Alessandro De Marchi (Ita)
Rohan Dennis (Aus)
Floris Gerts (Ned)
Richie Porte (Aus)
Peter Velits (Svk)
Danilo Wyss (Sui)

Cannondale Pro Cycling Team
Rider Name (Country) Team
Alberto Bettiol (Ita)
Patrick Bevin (NZl)
Simon Clarke (Aus)
Moreno Moser (Ita)
Wouter Wippert (Ned)
Michael Woods (Can)
Ruben Zepuntke (Ger)

Dimension Data
Rider Name (Country) Team
Tyler Farrar (USA)
Nathan Haas (Aus)
Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Rsa)
Songezo Jim (Rsa)
Cameron Meyer (Aus)
Mark Renshaw (Aus)
Jacobus Venter (Rsa)

Etixx - Quick Step
Rider Name (Country) Team
David de la Cruz Melgarejo (Esp)
Davide Martinelli (Ita)
Pieter Serry (Bel)
Petr Vakoc (Cze)
Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel)
Martin Velits (Svk)
Carlos Verona Quintanilla (Esp)

Rider Name (Country) Team
Murilo Antonio Fischer (Bra)
Johan Le Bon (Fra)
Steve Morabito (Sui)
Yoann Offredo (Fra)
Laurent Pichon (Fra)
Anthony Roux (Fra)
Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra)

IAM Cycling
Rider Name (Country) Team
Marcel Aregger (Sui)
Leigh Howard (Aus)
Roger Kluge (Ger)
Jarlinson Pantano Gomez (Col)
Matteo Pelucchi (Ita)
Aleksejs Saramotins Latvia
David Tanner (Aus)

Lampre - Merida
Rider Name (Country) Team
Tsgabu Gebremaryam Grmay (Eth)
Marko Kump (Slo)
Louis Meintjes (Rsa)
Manuele Mori (Ita)
Luka Pibernik (Slo)
Diego Ulissi (Ita)
Federico Zurlo (Ita)

Lotto - Soudal
Rider Name (Country) Team
Lars Ytting Bak (Den)
Thomas De Gendt (Bel)
Gert Dockx (Bel)
Adam Hansen (Aus)
Gregory Henderson (NZl)
Pim Ligthart (Ned)
Rafael Valls Ferri (Esp)

Movistar Team
Rider Name (Country) Team
Rubén Fernandez Andujar (Esp)
Jesús Herrada Lopez (Esp)
Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Esp)
Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Esp)
Nelson Filipe Santos Simoes Oliveira (Por)
Rory Sutherland (Aus)
Jasha Sütterlin (Ger)

Orica GreenEdge
Rider Name (Country) Team
Michael Albasini (Sui)
Luke Durbridge (Aus)
Caleb Ewan (Aus)
Simon Gerrans (Aus)
Mathew Hayman (Aus)
Michael Hepburn (Aus)
Daryl Impey (Rsa)

Team Giant-Alpecin
Rider Name (Country) Team
Ji Cheng (Chn)
Bert De Backer (Bel)
Koen De Kort (Ned)
Simon Geschke (Ger)
Carter Jones (USA)
Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe)
Georg Preidler (Aut)

Team Katusha
Rider Name (Country) Team
Maxim Belkov (Rus)
Vladimir Isaychev (Rus)
Sergey Lagutin (Rus)
Tiago Machado (Por)
Egor Silin (Rus)
Rein Taaramäe (Est)
Alexey Tsatevitch (Rus)

Team LottoNL - Jumbo
Rider Name (Country) Team
Enrico Battaglin (Ita)
George Bennett (NZl)
Martijn Keizer (Ned)
Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned)
Primoz Roglic (Slo)
Bram Tankink (Ned)
Maarten Tjallingii (Ned)

Team Sky
Rider Name (Country) Team
Sergio Henao Montoya (Col)
Peter Kennaugh (GBr)
Salvatore Puccio (Ita)
Luke Rowe (GBr)
Ian Stannard (GBr)
Ben Swift (GBr)
Geraint Thomas (GBr)

Tinkoff Team
Rider Name (Country) Team
Adam Blythe (GBr)
Maciej Bodnar (Pol)
Oscar Gatto (Ita)
Michael Gogl (Aut)
Jay McCarthy (Aus)
Ivan Rovny (Rus)
Michael Valgren Andersen (Den)

Trek Factory Racing
Rider Name (Country) Team
Julian Arredondo Moreno (Col)
Jack Bobridge (Aus)
Ryder Hesjedal (Can)
Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita)
Kiel Reijnen (USA)
Peter Stetina (USA)
Boy van Poppel (Ned)

Drapac Professional Cycling
Rider Name (Country) Team
Graeme Brown (Aus)
William Clarke (Aus)
Nathan Earle (Aus)
Brenton Jones (Aus)
Gavin Mannion (USA)
Lachlan Norris (Aus)
Adam Phelan (Aus)

UniSA - Australia
Rider Name (Country) Team
Chris Hamilton (Aus)
Lucas Hamilton (Aus)
Sean Lake (Aus)
Patrick Lane (Aus)
Patrick Shaw (Aus)
Neil van der Ploeg (Aus)
Steele von Hoff (Aus)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1