Skip to main content

Tour de Langkawi grows to 10 days

The Tour de Langkawi will expand to 10 stages in 2011 for the race's 16th edition, the race organisers announced today.

For the first time in four years, the island of Langkawi will host the Grand Départ with a 91.9km circuit starting at Dataran Lang and ending in Kuah Town.

"History will be made next year when the first stage of Le Tour de Langkawi 2011 will be launched on the island of Langkawi after a four-year absence," said Dato' Mohid Mohamad, the Youth and Sports Ministry Head Secretary General.

Dato' Mohid revealed an expanded course consisting of 10 stages with a total distance of 1308.9 km. The race will include back-to-back mountain stages with hors categorie climbs on both stage four from Lumut to Cameron Highlands and the classic Genting Highland finish on stage five.

"This will be the surprise awaiting the riders of Le Tour de Langkawi 2011. I hope this will give a surprising new chapter to the history of Le Tour de Langkawi," Dato' Mohid said.

"Although there are two hors categorie climb stages, there are another eight flat stages for riders who are not recognized climbing experts to contest."

A total of 23 teams, including Pro-tour teams, Pro-Continental, Continental and National teams are expected to join the race next year.

2011 Tour de Langkawi

Stage 1: January 23, 2010, Langkawi - Langkawi, 91.9km
Stage 2: January 24, 2010, Kangar - Butterworth, 145km
Stage 3: January 25, 2010, Taiping - Sitiawan,
Stage 4: January 26, 2010, Lumut - Cameron Highlands, 136km
Stage 5: January 27, 2010, Tapah - Genting Highlands, 128km
Stage 6: January 28, 2010, Rawang - Putrajaya, 105km
Stage 7: January 29, 2010, Banting - Tampin, 149.5km
Stage 8: January 30, 2010, Kuala Pilah - Melaka, 152km
Stage 9: January 31, 2010, Melaka - Nilai, 152.4km
Stage 10: February 1, 2010, Shah Alam - Kuala Lumpur, 104.8km

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Deputy Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. A former elite-level road racer who dabbled in cyclo-cross and track, Laura has a passion for all three disciplines. When not working she likes to go camping and explore lesser traveled roads, paths and gravel tracks.