Through the years at the Tour of Britain - Gallery

The Tour of Britain picked up the baton from races like the Milk Race, the old Kellogg's Tour of Britain and the PruTour when it returned to the international calendar in 2004, and the race has grown significantly since then, in tandem with the fortunes of British cycling at large.

Mauricio Ardila won the first edition of the revamped race in 2004, which took place over five stages, with Nick Nuyens triumphing the following year. By 2008, when Frenchman Geoffroy Lequatre took victory, the race had grown in reach and extended to eight days.

The 2011 edition saw the race began to challenge the Vuelta a España as a World Championships preparation race, as Mark Cavendish claimed two stage wins ahead of claiming the rainbow jersey in Copenhagen.

In 2012, Jonathan Tiernan-Locke won overall honours ahead of Nathan Haas only to be later stripped of victory when he received a ban for irregularities in his biological passport. A year later, Bradley Wiggins was the first rider from Team Sky to win, while last season Edvald Boasson Hagen became the first man to win the Tour of Britain twice, adding to his 2009 triumph.

Swipe or click through the gallery above for Cyclingnews' look back at the Tour of Britain since 2004.



Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1