Team Sky top Tour de France prize money table

For the first time, Team Sky won the team classification

For the first time, Team Sky won the team classification (Image credit: Fotoreporter Sirotti)

Team Sky has topped the 2017 Tour de France prize money list, winning almost three times as much as second-placed Cannondale-Drapac.

Sky won over a third of the €2,287,650 prize, claiming €716,590 in prize money while Cofidis take home a measly €19,230 as the bottom ranked 22nd team of the peloton. The overall prize money is down from 2016 when €2,295,850 was awarded to the peloton. However, Sky's prize money has increased from its previous Tour winning years.

Chris Froome won the bulk of Sky's prize money as he was awarded €500,000 for his win, the fourth of his career, along with €500 for each day spent in yellow and his minor places in stage results. Mikel Landa's fourth place also added €70,000 to Sky's haul with the €50,000 for winning the team classification also helping the British squad bolster its earnings.

Cannondale-Drapac's prize money primarily came from Rigoberto Uran with the Colombian claiming €200,000 for his second place overall finish. Team Sunweb's third place of the standings was built on four stage wins, ninth place overall for Warren Barguil along with the points classificaiton, mountains classification and super combative award. The team take home a total of €177,790, just ahead of Romain Bardet's AG2R-La Mondiale team on €173,040.

Bardet was responsible for the majority of AG2R-La Mondiale's total as he won €100,000 for third place, plus his stage win and top-five stage results.

Quick-Step Floors, with five stage wins for Marcel Kittel and Dan Martin sixth overall, was the only other team to crack the €100,000 barrier. The Belgian squad takes home €115,440.

At the other end of the table, Cofidis and Bahrain-Merida were the two teams unable to hit the €20, 000 mark. Movistar, accustomed to being towards the top end of the prize money following the podium results of Nairo Quintana in recent years, claimed just €24,090.

Of the four Pro-Continental wild card invitation teams, Direct Energie performed the best on the prize money table in 15th place and take home €43,720.

For the full list of prize money from the 2017 Tour de France, look through the table below. 

2017 Tour de France prize money

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Team Sky716,590
3Team Sunweb177,790
4AG2R La Mondiale173,040
5Quick-Step Floors115,440
6Lotto Soudal87,590
7Astana Pro Team81,080
8Team LottoNl-Jumbo77,250
11UAE Team Emirates63,910
12Dimension Data59,710
13BMC Racing Team59,120
15Direct Energie43,720
16Wanty - Groupe Gobert39,360
20Movistar Team24,090
22Cofidis, Solutions Credits19,230

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1