Skip to main content

Swiss team named for UCI Mountain Bike Worlds

Image 1 of 2

Nino Schurter (Scott - Swisspower MTB - Racing) putting the pressure on

Nino Schurter (Scott - Swisspower MTB - Racing) putting the pressure on (Image credit: Tour of Japan)
Image 2 of 2

Christoph Sauser (Specialized)

Christoph Sauser (Specialized) (Image credit: Zoon Cronje)

Swiss Cycling finalized its list of athletes competing at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Champery, Switzerland, from August 29 to September 4. The roster includes 54 cross country, downhill and four cross racers, who will enjoy competing in a world championship event in their home nation at a venue used previously in the UCI World Cup.

Two former cross country world champions, Christoph Sauser (2008) and Nino Schurter (2009), will be the start line for Switzerland, but the Swiss men's team is powerful one with several other medal contenders, too, including 2010 Under 23 world champion Mathias Flückiger.

On the women's side, Nathalie Schneitter won the last World Cup in Champery, in 2010, and she will again be among the favorites.

Swiss National Team for 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

Elite men cross country
Lukas Flückiger (Team Trek World Racing)
Mathias Flückiger (Team Trek World Racing)
Christoph Sauser (Specialized Racing Team)
Nino Schurter (Scott Swisspower MTB Racing)
Fabian Giger (Rabobank Offroad Team)
Martin Gujan (Cannondale Factory Team)
Florian Vogel (Scott Swisspower MTB Racing)

Elite women cross country
Sarah Koba (Giant Swiss SR-Suntour)
Katrin Leumann (Ghost Factory Racing Team)
Marielle Saner-Guinchard ( Scott)
Nathalie Schneitter (Colnago Arreghini Südtirol)
Esther Süss (RC Gränichen)

Under 23 men cross country
Benjamin Büchi (RV Stadt Winterthur)
Daniel Eymann (Thömus Racing Team)
Thomas Litscher (Felt Ötztal X-Bionic)
Jérémy Huguenin (Giant Swiss SR-Suntour)
Reto Indergand (MK-Zentralschweiz)
Marc Metzler (RV Altenrhein)
Matthias Stirnemann (Thömus Racing Team)

Under 23 women cross country
Michelle Hediger (Fischer BMC Team)
Sabrina Maurer (RC Gränichen)
Vivienne Meyer (Colnago Arreghini Südtirol)
Kathrin Stirnemann (Central Haibike Pro Team)
Lorraine Truong (CC du Littoral St. Blaise)

Junior men cross country
Valentin Berset (Team Dom Cycling-Merida)
Florian Chenaux (VC Fribourg)
Lars Forster (Tower Sports VC Eschenbach)
Andri Frischknecht (Scott Swisspower MTB Racing)
Tobias Spescha (VC Surselva)
Dominic Zumstein (Scott Swisspower MTB Racing)

Junior women cross country
Ramona Forchini (MTB Kader Zentralschweiz)
Linda Indergand (MTB Kader Zentralschweiz)
Eliane Müggler (RV Altenrhein)
Jolanda Neff (RV Altenrhein)
Andrea Waldis (VC Gersau)

Elite men downhill
Nick Beer (Scott 11)
Marcel Beer (Verein IG Bergvelo)
Martin Frei (VC Leibstadt)
Dominik Gspan (RV Rieden Wallisellen)
Ludovic May (Cyclophile Sédunois)
Lars Peyer (SC-Intense)

Elite women downhill
Miriam Ruchti (BMX Power Bike Winterthur)
Emilie Siegenthaler (Scott 11)

Junior men downhill
Antoine Bagnoud (Cyclophile Sédunois)
Jonas Bernet (RMV Cham Hagendorn)
Maxime Chapuis (Cyclophile Sédunois)
Freddy Hunziker (Scott 11)

Elite men four cross
David Graf (BMX Power Bike Winterthur)
Benjamin Kistner (BMX Power Bike Winterthur)
Roger Rinderknecht (BMX Power Bike Winterthur)
Reto Schmid (BMX Power Bike Winterthur)
Pascal Seydoux (BMX Club Blumenstein)
Adrian Weiss (Scott 11)

Elite women four cross
Lucia Oetjen (Thömus Racing Team)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1