Sid Patterson Grand Prix - at DISC this Saturday night

The Sid Patterson Grand Prix to be held at the Joe Ciavola Velodrome at the Darebin International Sports centre (DISC) this Saturday night will provide some of Victoria's senior track team a solid lead in to the Australian Track Championships, which start on Monday in Sydney.

This year's Victorian team members Joel Leonard, Mark French, Jamie Crass, Ben Sanders will be on show before they head to Sydney. They will be joined by former world keirin champion Jobie Dajka, world junior medallist Daniel Thorsen, 2007 Victorian Keirin Champion Adrian Hansen, former world junior champion Andrew Mason and 2006 Austral Wheelrace winner Dean Taylor.

The women's field, which includes 07 Victorian team members Jessica Berry, Tess Downing and Laine Hammond, will compete in 4 races on the night - scratch, elimination, handicap and keirin.

The Sid Patterson Grand Prix is a graded handicap final with qualifying heats. The night also includes scratch races, aces keirin, elimination and sprint derby plus invitational M17 events.

This year will be the seventh running of the GP and the third time the event has been held at DISC. Former winners of the Grand Prix include Leigh Howard, Brett Aitken, Darren Young and Todd Wilksch.

Reserved seating has already been sold out and only standing room remains, so those without tickets should get in early.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1