No extra wildcard given for the Tour

There will only be 21 teams at the start of the Tour de France in Fromentine on July 2, after race organisers ASO declined to invite a 22nd squad. That means the 20 ProTour teams plus Ag2r-Prevoyance will comprise the 189-rider Tour peloton, with five French teams in total. After a strong performance in Paris-Roubaix earlier this season, Agritubel was a candidate for an additional wild card spot, but ASO decided that the team hadn't done well enough in the more recent stage races and dropped it.

The teams for the 92nd Tour de France:

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1