New African MTB Championship race

The 2007 African MTB championships will be held in the Namibian capital of Windhoek on the 28th of July in 2007. Although the African’s have had an annual Continental Road Race there has not been a Continental MTB event for three years. Both previous editions were held in South Africa.

The 2007 event is to be organised by the Namibian Cycling Federation and the race will be UCI sanctioned and will include both men, women, juniors and U23 categories.

Riders to watch: Namibia: Mannie Heymans (three-time Namibian continental champion) and Marc Bassigthwaite, South Africa: Burry Stander, Jacques Roussouw, JP Pearton , Anke Erlank and Yolande Speedy, Zimbabweans: Conway Mohamed, Linda Davidson, Abel Muchenje and the South African based Warren Carne.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1