Skip to main content

Milram riders get snappy Gent-Wevelgem announcement

Team Milram announced its line-up for Wednesday's Gent-Wevelgem with a sharply-worded statement by team manager Gerry van Gerwen, who criticized his team after its poor showing in the Hel van het Megelland. None of the team's riders finished in the Dutch race.

"When riders present themselves in a race as part of our team did Saturday in the Netherlands, then they need to re-think not only their own performance but also their whole attitude toward their profession," he said. "We are happy to give one or the other of them time now to do that. After all, Gent-Wevelgem is a big race in which we want to present ourselves in the best way."

Van Gerwen did not specify who he meant. Artur Gajek and Luca Barla are the only two riders from Megelland who will also ride in Gent-Wevelgem. The other riders from the Dutch race are Alessandro Petacchi, Dennis Haueisen, Brett Lancaster, Elio Rigotto, and Marco Velo.

Milram will now be led in Gent-Wevelgem by Erik Zabel, who will be supported by Classics specialist Markus Eichler.

Milram for Gent-Wevelgem: Artur Gajek, Christian Knees, Enrico Poitschke, Erik Zabel, Fabio Sabatini, Luca Barla, Markus Eichler and Martin Müller.