Ineos, QuickStep, UAE, Jumbo-Visma confirmed for 2022 Volta ao Algarve

ALTO DO MALHO LOUL PORTUGAL MAY 09 Kasper Asgreen of Denmark and Team Deceuninck QuickStep Most Combative Rider Joo Rodrigues of Portugal and Team W52Fc Porto yellow leader jersey Ethan Hayter of United Kingdom and Team INEOS Grenadiers Sean Quinn of United States and Team Hagens BermanAxeon white best young jersey Luis Fernandes of Portugal and Team Radio Popular Boavista blue mountain jersey Sam Bennett of Ireland and Team Deceuninck QuickStep Green Points Jersey celebrates at podium during the 47th Volta Ao Algarve 2021 Stage 5 a 1701km stage from Albufeira to Alto do Malho 510m Loul Miss Hostess VoltAlgarve VAlgarve2021 on May 09 2021 in Alto do Malho Loul Portugal Photo by Luc ClaessenGetty Images
The final podium and jersey winners of the 2021 Volta ao Algarve (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)

Organisers of the Volta ao Algarve have confirmed nine of the teams set to line up at the start of next season's edition, which will run from February 16-20.

Four WorldTour teams have been confirmed as organisers have invited the top four teams on the 2021 UCI rankings. QuickStep-AlphaVinyl will be joined at the race by Ineos Grenadiers, Jumbo-Visma, and UAE Team Emirates.

Those teams have had a stranglehold on the race since 2012, with João Rodrigues of W52-Porto breaking the spell of dominance at the 2021 race. Ineos have taken victory four times via Richie Porte, Geraint Thomas (twice), and Michał Kwiatkowski.

QuickStep have won three editions with Kwiatkowski, Tony Martin, and Remco Evenepoel. Jumbo-Visma's Primož Roglič and UAE Team Emirates' Tadej Pogačar won the race in 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Five ProTeams have also been confirmed for the race, with Mathieu van der Poel's Alpecin-Fenix team the headline name. They'll be joined by Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, who make their 12th consecutive appearance at the race, plus Euskaltel-Euskadi, Arkéa-Samsic, and US team Rally Cycling.

25 teams usually take part in the race, meaning 16 spots are still up for grabs, though around eight to 10 of those will go to Portuguese Continental squads such as W52-Porto, Efapel, and Radio Popular-Boavista.

The race is set to revisit the traditional summit finishes of the Alto da Fóia and the Alto do Malhão, which are usually decisive points of the race along with a short individual time trial.

The 2021 edition of the race, which was delayed to May due to the COVID-19 pandemic, saw Rodrigues triumph on the final day at Malhão after overturning Ethan Hayter's (Ineos Grenadiers) GC lead. The Briton took second, while QuickStep's Kasper Asgreen rounded out the podium.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.