Hirt hoping to profit from Tour of Oman GC win

The final podium of the 2022 Tour of Oman (l-r) Fausto Masnanda, Jan Hirt and Rui Costa
The final podium of the 2022 Tour of Oman (l-r) Fausto Masnanda, Jan Hirt and Rui Costa (Image credit: Getty Images)

A day after Jan Hirt took his first win in six years – "five and a half" he corrects – on the steep slopes of the Green Mountain the Czech rider duly sealed overall victory at the Tour of Oman after a final sprint stage in Matrah Corniche.

Since last winning a race back at the Tour of Austria in mid-2016 – where he also won a stage – the 31-year-old has had a quiet time of things, results-wise, with perhaps fifth place at the 2019 Tour de Suisse his standout moment since then.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Dani Ostanek
Senior News Writer

Dani Ostanek is Senior News Writer at Cyclingnews, joining in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired full-time. Before joining the team, they had written for numerous major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly and Rouleur.

Dani has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France, Road World Championships, and the spring Classics. They have interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Mathieu van der Poel, Demi Vollering, and Remco Evenepoel. Their favourite races are the Giro d'Italia, Strade Bianche and Paris-Roubaix.

Season highlights from the 2024 season include reporting from Paris-Roubaix –  'Unless I'm in an ambulance, I'm finishing this race' – Cyrus Monk, the last man home at Paris-Roubaix – and the Tour de France – 'Disbelief', gratitude, and family – Mark Cavendish celebrates a record-breaking Tour de France sprint win.