Gilbert won't defend Grand Prix de Wallonie title

Defending champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC) will be missing from the start line in Chaudfontaine for the Grand Prix de Wallonie when the 203km race gets underway on Wednesday. He will instead continue his preparation for the UCI Road World Championships which begin next week.

Gilbert won the 2011 event from Julien Simon (Saur-Sojasun) and Björn Leukemans (Vacansoleil - DCM) with a two-second margin - just one of 18 victories for the Belgian in an all-dominating season. Gilbert also won the Grand Prix de Wallonie in 2006.

Gilbert's Belgian teammate Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) will be racing however and is coming off a last-up win at Paris-Brussels.

Other notable riders on the start line include Greg Van Avermaet (BMC), Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil - DCM), Oscar Freire (Katusha), Jakob Fuglsang and Jens Voigt (RadioShack-Nissan).

Last week, Andy Schleck (RadioShack-Nissan) announced he would not be racing as he had earlier planned as he was still in pain from his fracured pelvis.


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1