First riders named for 2014 Prudential RideLondon Classic

Having hosted the Grand Départ of the Tour de France in July, Britain is set for another world class cycling event with UCI 1.1HC Prudential RideLondon Classic to take place on August 10 in the capital.

The 200km race will feature 25 teams with includes a combination of WorldTour, Pro-Continental, Continental and national teams taking part. Last year's winner Arnaud Démare won't be racing as his team have decided not to sent a team for the 2014 edition of the race.

2012 world champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC), Mark Renshaw (Omega Pharma-Quick-Step), Sam Bennett (NetApp-Endura) will be just some of riders taking part in the event which will also mark a return to racing for former British champion Ian Stannard (Team Sky) who fractured his vertebrae after crashing at Gent-Wevelgem.

Team Sky have also announced that Ben Swift, Luke Rowe, and Australian sprinter Chris Sutton will also be joining Stannard for the race.

Teams for the 2014 RideLondon-Surrey Classic:

Team Sky
Madison Genesis
MTN - Qhubeka
Omega Pharma - Quick-Step
Rapha Condor JLT
Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
Orica GreenEDGE
Wanty - Groupe Gobert
Team Raleigh
Team NetApp – Endura
BMC Racing Team
Velosure - Giordana Racing Team
Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise
Team Giant-Shimano
An Post - Chain Reaction
Synergy Baku Cycling Project
Team La Pomme Marseille 13
Great Britain
Team Colombia
Bike Aid - Ride for Help
Team Kuota
Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1