CSC announce Vuelta squad

Carlos Sastre

Carlos Sastre (Image credit: Sirotti)

Danish ProTour squad Team CSC has announced its squad for September's Vuelta a España Grand Tour. Carlos Sastre will lead the CSC men in 2007's final Grand Tour, which commences on September 1, by the Atlantic Ocean in Vigo.

A notable absents from the squad is Danish rider Nicki Sørensen, who had been building for the event as well as the 2007 World Championships in Stuttgart, Germany. Sørensen's season came to an end overnight with Team CSC announcing the rider has broken three bones in his foot in an "unfortunate accident" (see separate news item).

"We have a great line-up in these guys," said a confident sports director Kim Andersen. "I'd really hoped to have Nicki Sørensen along as well, because I think he'd been an important part of the puzzle, but he's out with a broken foot. We're aiming to support Carlos Sastre 100 percent - he's top motivated to do well and he'll have the entire team at his disposal."

Team CSC Vuelta a España roster: Carlos Sastre, Alexandr Kolobnev, Christian Vande Velde, Chris Anker Sørensen, Inigo Cuesta, Karsten Kroon, Marcus Ljungqvist, Michael Blaudzun and Volodymir Gustov.
Reserves: Lars Bak and Luke Roberts.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1