Countdown to the US Grand Prix of Mountain Biking

The 2012 US Grand Prix of Mountain Biking (MTB GP) is set to make its official debut in less than two weeks in Port Angeles, Washington. From April 26-29, the MTB GP, in conjunction with the NW Cup, will host round one of the newest national-level downhill series. The race also doubles as round 1 of the US Pro Gravity Tour (Pro GRT), a downhill national series run by USA Cycling.

Top domestic and international mountain bike racers will their skills on some of the toughest downhill mountain bike tracks that the United States has to offer. Port Angeles has been the official start to the US gravity season for the past several years.

The Port Angeles MTB GP has attracted an international compilation of the some of the world's top gravity racers including reigning US national series champion Cody Warren (DRD Intense), current World Cup downhill champion Aaron Gwin (Trek World Racing), Greg Minnaar and Josh Bryceland (both Santa Cruz Syndicate), Mick Hannah (Morewood United), Jared Graves (Yeti Fox Shox) and justin Leov (Trek World Racing).

The MTB GP official kickoff party will be held on Friday evening at the Vern Burton Gym, with a raffle and "Strength in Numbers" movie premiere.

The series will continue with round 2 at Sugarbush Resort in Warren, Vermont on June 16-17; round 3 at Highland Bike Park in Northfield, New Hampshire on July 7-8 and round 4 at the Stevens Pass Resort in Skykomish, Washington on August 4-5.

For more information, visit or

Confirmed Teams and riders for US GP of MTB round 1

DRD Intense
Cody Warren
Austin Warren
Jason Memmelaar

Trek World Racing
Aaron Gwin
Justin Leov
Neko Mulally

Santa Cruz Syndicate
Greg Minnaar
Josh Bryceland

Norco International
Bryn Atkinson
Jill Kintner

Transition Racing
Lars Sternberg

Yeti Fox Shox
Jared Graves
Eliot Jackson
Richie Rude
Trevor Trinkino

KHS Bicycles
Logan Bingelli
Kevin Aiello
Quinton Spaulding
Bryson Martin Jr

DIRT Norco
Duncan Riffle

Diamondback Racing
Kyle Thomas

Mike Sylvestri

Pivot Kenda
Luke Strobel

One Ghost
Art Babcock
Nik Dudukovich
Spencer Mehr
Chappy Fiene

Morewood United
Mick Hannah

Kona Factory
Mitch Delfs

Specialized US Factory
Brad Benedict
Mitch Ropelato
Curtis Keene

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1