Belgian Worlds team announced

Philippe Gilbert will be able to count on the support of four of his Omega Pharma-Lotto teammates at the world championships in Geelong next month. The Belgian team was announced by national coach Carlo Bomans today and his line-up of nine riders is built largely around Gilbert.

Mario Aerts, Jan Bakelants, Jürgen Roelandts and Greg Van Avermaet will ride the race in support of their trade team leader Gilbert. Bakelants and Van Avermaet are currently competing in the Vuelta a España with Gilbert, who demonstrated why he is among the favourites to take the rainbow jersey with an impressive opening week at the Spanish race.

The Omega Pharma-Lotto quintet will be joined by two riders from arch rivals Quick Step: Stijn Devolder and Kevin De Weert. Devolder will also ride the time trial event along with Dominque Cornu (Skil-Shimano), who is listed as a reserve for the road race.

The Belgian team is completed by Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) and Frederik Willems (Liquigas-Doimo). 2005 world champion Tom Boonen (Quick Step) had already ruled himself out of the Belgian selection following knee surgery in July.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Barry Ryan
Head of Features

Barry Ryan is Head of Features at Cyclingnews. He has covered professional cycling since 2010, reporting from the Tour de France, Giro d’Italia and events from Argentina to Japan. His writing has appeared in The Independent, Procycling and Cycling Plus. He is the author of The Ascent: Sean Kelly, Stephen Roche and the Rise of Irish Cycling’s Golden Generation, published by Gill Books.