2013 Reader Poll: Laura Trott voted best track rider

Laura Trott moved up four places from last year to be named track rider of the year in the 2013 Cyclingnews Reader Poll.

The Brit secured a total of 4496 votes, more than double that of second placed Sarah Hammer with 2144 votes. Britain again dominated the top spots with sprinter Jason Kenny taking third for the second year running. He claimed 1578 of the votes, pipping Belgium’s Iljo Keisse into the spot.

Trott and Hammer have become rivals in the Omnium event over the last two years. Trott beat Hammer in the event at the Olympics in 2012, by a single point, but the American got her own back at the world championships in Belarus in February. She beat Trott once again during the recent round of the track World Cup, in Aguascalientes, Mexico.

Since 2011, Trott’s progression through the ranks has been rapid, with her gutsy riding and success making her one of the stars of track. The season saw Trott splitting her ambitions between the track and the road, after she joined the Wiggle Honda team. That didn’t stop her from taking 11 victories on the track, including the defence of her World team pursuit title as part of the dominant Great Britain team.

With four world titles already under her belt, it is easy to forget that Trott is still only 21. In July, she took three titles at the under 23 European Championships this season, before she added a further two in the elite competition. Trott is yet to take her first victory on the road, but did finish second at the national championships in June.

Trott will be back in action at the fifth round of the Track World Cup in Guadalajara, Mexico, from the 17th – 19th January.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider NameResult
1Laura Trott30.7%
2Sarah Hammer14.6%
3Jason Kenny10.8%
4Iljo Keisse10.3%
5Michael Hepburn8.3%
6Martyn Irvine8.0%
7Kristina Vogel7.8%
8Rebecca James5.2%
9Stefan Botticher3.0%
10Wai Sze Lee1.4%

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1