The 2020 road season in numbers

2020 in numbers
(Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

It was a small miracle that there was a 2020 road season. The global coronavirus pandemic forced the cancellation of every pro race in North America but thanks to Europe's strict lockdowns in the spring and the fortitude of the UCI, race organisers, teams, sponsors and brave riders, cycling ultimately enjoyed a thrilling if not highly unusual racing season.

The year began as usual with the Santos Tour Down Under in the warmth of Australia, where Richie Porte took his second career overall victory, and with Remco Evenepoel's dominant win in the Vuelta a San Juan. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1