Skip to main content

Getting ready for Diegem

Everyone is starting to get settled in after a few days of life in Izegem despite the lack of racing this week. With Lichtervelde, Namur, and Maldegem behind us, we have four days to prepare for Diegem. I raced Diegem last year in the nieuwelingen category, or the 15-16 year old juniors as we call it in America. It's one of this biggest staple Christmas week races, along with Zolder and Loenhout, and everyone seems ready to race after some great results last weekend.

This will be my second time racing Christmas week in Europe, and looking towards the coming week of racing I find myself thinking about my experience last year in the nieuwelingen category. Last year when Europe was undergoing a major storm, the Belgians came out in numbers to watch some of the best racing all season in super-icy conditions. This year it looks like lots of mud will be present on the course, due to the warm weather and the rain every night. In preparation for the race we will all have a training race tomorrow, along the canal in Izegem.

There are so many differences between cyclo-cross in the US and cyclo-cross in Europe. For one the courses are much, much harder. Look at the World Cup in Namur, huge drops every lap with so much climbing as well. The toughest part of the big races for me is the size. The amount of spectators, vendors, and the hard courses make for such a spectacle.

One thing I discovered during this trip was the local-level races. The courses for those are much different than for the big events. They mostly consist of a few corners in a field, with barbed wire and sometimes electrical fence as the course tape. The race I did in Maldegem, for example, was all deep mud with nine or ten 90 degree corners, and a cobbled road section for the finish. From what I hear this is what most of the local races are like.

Mind you, the competition for these races is not slow for being a local race, the winners of the local races could get top five results in World Cups. The Belgian kids look a lot different than the American juniors. For some reason I feel like all of their kits are different, their sponsors are all things like construction companies and local car dealerships. I even saw some kid with “vliegende kat” on his jersey. After some Google translating, I found out that means “flying cat”. Sort of a weird thing to have on your kit. But hey, its Europe, what do you expect.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Euro 'Cross Camp is about to enter its 9th year and continues to go from strength to strength. Its vision is to offer European race experience to young, developing American cyclo-cross riders and to prepare them for the world championships in late January. Founded in 2003, it utilises the same infrastructure as the USA U23 road programme. This year there will be 20 riders involved and a staff of 12 will be on hand to cater for their every need at the base in Izegem, Belgium.

Throughout the Camp riders will be updating Cyclingnews users on a daily basis, offering them a fly-on-the-wall perspective on the ins and outs of life in a residential training camp and the progress that they are making. The riders will do between 6-10 races over the two-week camp under the watchful eye of Euro 'Cross Camp founder and director Geoff Proctor, who also serves as National U23/Junior Team Coach for the USA at the world championships and is a member of the UCI Cyclo-cross Commission.

Euro 'Cross Camp IX Roster 2011-2012

Andrew Dillman (Bob’s Red Mill Cyclocross Team)
Zane Godby (Clif Bar Cyclocross Development Team)
Curtis White (Clif Bar Cyclocross Development Team)
Tobin Ortenblad (California Giant-Specialized)
Logan Owen (Redline Bicycles)
Jordan Cullen (Clif Bar Cyclocross Development Team)
Cypress Gorry (Whole Athlete-Specialized)
Lionel Rocheleau (Team Geargrinder)
Luke Haley (Red Zone Cycling Team)
John Francisco (Red Zone Cycling Team)
Sam O’Keefe (C3/Athletes Serving Athletes)
Nate Morse (
Stephen Bassett (Bob’s Red Mill Cyclocross Team)
Spencer Downing (Clif Bar Cyclocross Development Team)

Yannick Eckmann (Pearl Izumi/Shimano)
Zach McDonald (Rapha-Focus)
Dan Gerow (Wolverine/ACFSTORES.COM)
Kolben Preble (Clif Bar Cyclocross Development Team)

Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt)
Jake Wells (Stan’s No Tubes Elite Cyclocross Team)