Kristoff wins in Frankfurt

Katusha sprinter out-paces Degenkolb in Germany

Milan-San Remo winner Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) won a soggy sprint in the Eschborn-Frankfurt, beating race-favorite German John Degenkolb (Giant-Shimano) on his home turf. Belgian Jérôme Baugnies (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) was third from several bike lengths behind.

"I never expected this before the race,” Kristoff said. “I have to be honest, after Paris-Roubaix I took a well-deserved break and these past few days I just did long distance training, and I had a travel day yesterday. On the bike, I didn’t feel good in the beginning but then when you see your teammates doing a perfect job, the only thing I had to do was to follow. In the end, I started to feel better and better. Moreover, I never start a race with the idea that I will not finish. I’ll always do the sprint, and when I had such a perfect train in front of me, it was my duty to try to win. I’m really happy to put my name on the winner’s list."

The field caught a 10-man breakaway near the end of the race. Kristoff’s teammate, Alexandr Kolobnev, made a timely counter attack but was caught by the field in the last 10km. Kristoff, who was already well-placed near the front of the peloton, started his sprint with 300 meters to go. He said that during last 200 meters he was taking in a lot of wind but felt strong enough to continue to sprint.

“Most likely Degenkolb was a bit more tired,” Kristoff said. “He was the local favorite and everybody was watching him. In the end, he had to work himself too, thanks to the perfect job of Kolobnev who attacked earlier. A perfect day, and again, a win in the rain. The roads were sometimes very slippery but we managed to survive. We even did more..."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha4:49:31 
2John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano  
3Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
4Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
5Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
6Rick Zabel (Ger) Deutsche Nationalmannschaft  
7Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Deutsche Nationalmannschaft  
8Jan Dieteren (Ger) Team Stölting  
9Alexander Porsev (Rus) Team Katusha  
10Bartlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
11Christian Mager (Ger) Team Stölting  
12Silvio Herklotz (Ger) Team Stölting  
13Lars Boom (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team  
14Gerald Ciolek (Ger) MTN Qhubeka p.b. Samsung  
15Jaco Venter (RSA) MTN Qhubeka p.b. Samsung  
16Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team NetApp - Endura  
17Jaroslaw Marycz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
18Sebastian Deckert (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
19Antonio Parrinello (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela0:00:06 
20Robert Retschke (Ger) Team Kuota  
21Adrian Honkisz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
22Lukasz Owsian (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
23Eliot Lietaer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
24Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team Katusha0:00:12 
24Gustav Larsson (Swe) IAM Cycling  
26Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
27Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) Team NetApp - Endura  
28Frantisek Padour (Cze) Team NetApp - Endura  
29Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Bretagne - Séché.environnement  
30Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
31Christophe Laborie (Fra) Bretagne - Séché.environnement  
32Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Rad-net Rose Team  
33Patrick Gretsch (Ger) AG2R - La Mondiale0:00:18 
34Maarten Wynants (Bel) Belkin Pro Cycling Team  
35Paul Voss (Ger) Team NetApp - Endura  
36Nikodemus Holler (Ger) Team Stuttgart  
37Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team  
38Jos Van Emden (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team  
39Backer Bert De (Bel) Team Giant-Shimano  
40Eduard Vorganov (Rus) Team Katusha  
41Marco Minnaard (Ned) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:00:32 
42Marc Goos (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team  
43Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Team Katusha0:00:37 
44Mirco Saggiorato (Swi) Team Stölting  
45Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne - Séché.environnement  
46Branislau Samoilau (Blr) CCC Polsat Polkowice0:00:45 
47Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
48Alexander Krieger (Ger) Team Stuttgart0:00:50 
49Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN Qhubeka p.b. Samsung0:10:00 
50Thomas Degand (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
51Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:10:07 
52Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) MTN Qhubeka p.b. Samsung0:10:10 
53Julian Kern (Ger) AG2R - La Mondiale  
54Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R - La Mondiale0:10:15 
55Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R - La Mondiale  
56Biel Kadri (Fra) AG2R - La Mondiale0:10:18 
57Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R - La Mondiale  
58Ruben Zepuntke (Ger) Deutsche Nationalmannschaft  
59Brice Feillu (Fra) Bretagne - Séché.environnement0:10:25 
60Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela0:10:44 
61Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
62Marek Rutkiewicz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice0:10:59 
63Mateusz Taciak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
64Gatis Smukulis (Lat) Team Katusha0:20:06 
65Mario Vogt (Ger) Rad-net Rose Team0:20:49 
66Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne - Séché.environnement0:40:13 


Related Articles

Back to top