TechPowered By

More tech

MudFund Derby City Cup 2013

Date range:
November 10, 2013

November 10, Elite Men:

Powers takes advantage of Trebon's troubles

Ted Burns
November 11, 2013, 14:07 GMT,
November 11, 2013, 15:23 GMT

Berden takes second, Summerhill third at Derby City Cup

Men’s Podium (L to R) Ben Berden (Raleigh Clement) 2nd, Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) 1st, Danny Summerhill (K-Edge Felt) 3rd

Men’s Podium (L to R) Ben Berden (Raleigh Clement) 2nd, Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) 1st, Danny Summerhill (K-Edge Felt) 3rd

view thumbnail gallery

Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) out-sprinted Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement) to win a tightly contested race at Sunday’s Derby City Cup.

Ryan Trebon ( went close to winning his second race of the weekend, but missed out due to a late race mistake which enabled Powers and Berden to jump around him for the final sprint.

“Ryan was going good at the end but that’s the whole thing with cyclo-cross, you make a mistake and someone else capitalizes from it,” said Powers about Trebon’s error.

“It’s one of those Hail Marys. He threw it up there, he went for the gold, and he just came up short. But I know what that’s like.”

The race started fast, with Shawn Milne (Keough Cyclocross-Felt), one of the strongest road sprinters in the USA, grabbing the hole-shot but it was a hungry Ben Berden who would take over at the front and form the first selection of the race.

Berden was joined by Danny Summerhill (K-Edge-Felt), Yannick Eckmann (California Giant–Specialized), and Logan Owen (California Giant-Specialized) at the front of the race, and the foursome proceeded to motor through Eva Bandman Park.

Trebon soon took up the chase, and was tailed by Adam Craig (Giant Factory Off Road Team) and Tim Johnson ( As soon as he made it across to the leaders, Trebon went on the attack. The aggressive trio of Trebon, Summerhill, and Berden, traded the lead multiple times a lap as each rider pushed and probed the others for weakness. Berden rode the technical sections of the course effortlessly, and was notably aggressive the entire race.

“I was racing really hard from the beginning,” said Berden. “I tried to gap them but they had small efforts to catch me all the time.”

With four laps to go Powers finally made contact with the lead group, which was now comprised of Trebon, Berden, Summerhill, Craig, and Johnson. Powers had lost sight of the leaders in the early laps of the race, and had to fight his way up, one rider at a time.

“I felt like I couldn’t really do anything until I got out of traffic,” said Powers. “It took that long for guys to pop, and for them to go easy enough, that I could get by in the singletrack sections.”

Powers took a lap to recover, and then went on the offensive. Now in control of the race, he was only matched in the technical sections of the course by Berden and Trebon.

With one lap to go Powers and Trebon began to fight for the lead, each taking a turn at the front when the other would make a mistake. Trebon finally gained a decisive advantage after edging out Powers in a 180 downhill turn, which earned him the lead and a few valuable seconds on his rival.

Going into the final stretch Trebon looked to have the race sewn up but it was not to be. In the last technical section of the course, a tricky rutted path that led into a sharp downhill, then steep uphill immediately before road to the finish, Trebon lost his lead.

“I was like ‘Get through this section, and we’re all in the clear!’, and I just messed it up,” said a disappointed Trebon. “I had to get off my bike, run to the top, and get back on. I was out of my pedals, and all over the place.”

Jeremy Powers went around Trebon on the left, and Berden came around him on his right. Berden didn’t clear the hill cleanly, and the mistake enabled Powers to get a 10-meter gap in the final road section to the finish. Powers sprinted to victory, and Berden finished second. Danny Summerhill finished third, and Trebon held on for fourth.

The Midwest cyclo-cross calendar continues next weekend on November 15-17 at the Carousel Volkswagen Jingle Cross Rock cyclo-cross race in Iowa City, Iowa.

Full Results
1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 1:02:22  
2 Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement    
3 Daniel Summerhill (USA) K-Edge/Felt Bicycles 0:00:03  
4 Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:00:07  
5 Adam Craig (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team    
6 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:00:25  
7 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus 0:01:13  
8 Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement 0:01:21  
9 Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:01:28  
10 Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX 0:01:30  
11 Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:01:33  
12 Ryan Knapp (USA) Pony Shop Cyclocross 0:01:34  
13 Kerry Werner (USA) MOB CX Team 0:01:42  
14 Logan Owen (USA) California Giant-Specialized 0:01:44  
15 Shawn Milne (USA) Keough Cyclocross 0:01:54  
16 Tobin Ortenblad (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:02:09  
17 Cody Kaiser (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:02:40  
18 Brian Matter (USA) RACC-Trek CXC 0:03:05  
19 Eric Thompson (USA) Mt. Borah Epic Team 0:03:08  
20 Joshua Johnson (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team 0:03:23  
21 Mitchell Hoke (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:03:25  
22 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b    
23 Isaac Neff (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:03:33  
24 Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 0:03:47  
25 Rotem Ishay (Isr) Boo Bikes 0:03:49  
26 Westley Richards (USA) Clemmons Bicycle 0:03:50  
27 Joachim Parbo (Den) Cielo-Challenge-Bicyclista 0:04:09  
28 Tristan Cowie (USA) 0:04:45  
29 Sven Baumann (Ger) Wolverine Racing-Trek 0:05:22  
30 Lewis Gaffney (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 0:05:53  
31 Andrew Dillman (USA) Sophisticated Living p/b Bob's Red Mill 0:06:50  
32 Andrew Reardon (USA) Sophisticated Living-Bob's Red Mill  -2laps  
33 Braden Kappius (USA) Team Clif Bar    
34 Gunnar Bergey (USA) Champion System Cannondale  -3laps  
35 Steve Tilford (USA) TradeWind Energy-Eriksen Cycles    
36 Kevin Fish (USA) Team Super Squadra    
37 Tanner Hurst (USA) Be Real Sports-Grease Monkey    
38 John Francisco (USA) Papa John's Racing Team    
39 Earl Gage (USA) Scalo Veloce    
40 Skyler Trujillo (USA) Boo Bikes  -4laps  
41 David Yohe (USA) Marian University    
42 Olivier Vrambout (USA) Solidsurface fueled by Waffle Power    
43 Kevin Burgess (USA) Lees McRae College    
44 Travis Monroe (USA) Vertical Earth    
45 Vance Fletcher (USA) Marian University  -5laps  
46 Anthony Dust (USA) Dogfish Racing Team    
47 Michael Dutczak (USA) South Chicago Wheelmen    
48 Zach Bender (USA) Marian University Cycling    
49 Michael Crouch (USA) Cumberland Transit Cycling    
50 Stephen Bassett (USA) Sophisticated Living p/b Bob's Red Mill    
51 Cody Phillips (USA) Team Santa Cruz/X-Fusion    
52 Zachary Carlson (USA) Marian University Cycling    
53 Elliott Baring (USA) CycleYouth    
54 Doug Carraway (USA) Team Six One Four  -6laps  
55 David Rose (USA) Team WHAYNE    
56 Johnathan Freter (USA) Don Walker Cycles Racing Team  -8laps  
DNF Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
DNS Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar    
DNS Matt Shriver (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective    
DNS Douglas Ansel (USA) Beverly Bike-Vee Pack    
DNS Joseph Maloney (USA) KS Energy Services-Team Wisconsin