Peat leads British team to mountain bike worlds

26 riders heading to Mont-Sainte-Anne, Quebec

British Cycling announced the team which will represent Great Britain at the forthcoming UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Mont-Saint-Anne, Quebec, Canada, from September 1-5, 2010.

World Champion Steve Peat will be looking to defend his title in the downhill competition whilst Gee Atherton, currently leading the World Cup series, and Marc Beaumont, winner of the last World Cup in Val di Sole, also make the squad.

First-year junior Manon Carpenter makes her debut at the World Championship level after having already scored three top 10 results in the elite women's downhill World Cup this year.

Commonwealth cross country gold medallist Liam Killeen has also been selected.

Great Britain's Olympic Academy rider and current National Champion Annie Last has had a strong season this year with two podium finishes at World Cup level in the Under 23 category. She is joined by fellow Academy riders Lily Matthews and David Fletcher, whilst Olympic Development Programme riders Grant Ferguson, Kenta Gallagher and Steve James - all of whom have produced top 10 finishes at World Cups this year - also make the selection.

"The strength and depth of talent which Great Britain has across all the mountain bike disciplines continues to increase, and the size of the squad we're sending to the World Champs reflects this," said British Cycling's Performance Director Dave Brailsford.

"It's also good to see the number of young riders which have made it onto the squad again this year, particularly the crop of young talent we have in the Olympic discipline of cross country with just under two years to go until London 2012."

British National Team for 2010 UCI Mountain Bike Worlds

Cross Country

Elite men
Oli Beckingsale
Liam Killeen

Under 23 men
David Fletcher

Under 23 women
Annie Last
Lily Matthews

Junior men

Grant Ferguson
Kenta Gallagher
Steve James


Elite men
Gee Atherton
Marc Beaumont
Ruaridh Cunningham
Brendan Fairclough
Danny Hart
Steve Peat
Matt Simmonds
Joe Smith

Elite women
Rachel Atherton
Fionn Griffiths
Tracy Moseley

Junior men

Lewis Buchanan
Sam Flockhart
Mark Scott

Junior women
Manon Carpenter

Four cross

Elite men
Scott Beaumont

Elite women
Katy Curd
Fionn Griffiths

Related Articles

Back to top