Cycling Australia opens people’s choice voting

Evans, Gerrans, Buchanan - vote for your favourite

Cycling Australia has announced its now accepting votes for the Scody 2009 People’s Choice Cyclist of the Year award. People can vote for any Cycling Australia-registered cyclist, regardless of their discipline of category.

Voting will remain open until midday Australian Eastern Standard Time on Friday, October 30. Only votes from Australian residents will be included, but entering will put you in the running for a prize pack that includes tickets, flights and accommodation to attend the Jayco Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards, where the 2009 People’s Choice Cyclist of the Year award will be presented on November 22, 2009.

Some of the highlights internationally for Australian cycling include Cadel Evans’ recent International Cycling Union (UCI) World Road Championship victory and Simon Gerrans’ Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a España stage victories. The nation’s successes haven’t only been limited to road accomplishments, however, with both Jared Graves and Caroline Buchanan winning UCI Mountain Bike World Championships on home soil.

While many months have passed since the event, the nation’s efforts at the UCI Track World Championships also fall in the period of reference for the award and shouldn’t go unnoticed. Youngster Leigh Howard claimed gold on the Poland event’s final day, but his was just one of four gold medals and 10 medals in total the team brought back from Europe.

These are but a few of Australia’s elite accomplishments at international level throughout the past 12 months, however votes can be cast for junior, para-cycling and masters as well. See the nomination page Cycling Australia has setup (links to an external website) for more details and to cast your vote.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Related Articles

Back to top