Skip to main content

Women's Tour of Scotland 2019

Latest News from the Race

Women's Tour of Scotland 2019 - Overview

The inaugural Women's Tour of Scotland is held from August 9-11. The three-day race is classed as a 2.1 UCI event and will include some of the top teams in the world in only its first year.

There will be 16 teams that include Ale Cipollini, Bigla, Valcar-Cylance, Parkhotel Valkenburg and Lotto Soudal Ladies on the start line, along with American teams Tibco-SVB and Rally UHC.

The route

Organisers announced the route that will be held across the country from Dundee to Edinburgh via Perth at the start of the year.

Friday's stage 1 starts in Dundee with a 103km stage to Dunfermline. The riders will cross Tay Road Bridge, crossing into Fife, with a sprint in Cupar and the race's first classified climb at Grange of Lindores. Two more sprints in Falkland and Leslie precede the second climb on Cleish Hill before the finish in Pittencrief Park.

Saturday's stage 2 starts in Glasgow with 139.4km of racing to Perth. The riders set off from George Square, crossing Lamb Hill with a sprint in Aberfoyle coming just before the only climb of the day at Duke's Pass. The riders will contest two more intermediate sprints in Strathyre and Crief before the flat finish in front of Perth's Council Chambers.

Sunday's stage 3 starts and finishes in the historic centre of Edinburgh at Holyrood Park, coinciding with the Edinburgh Festival. The 118.3km loop heads south towards Peebles with three sprints at Innerleithen, Bonnyrigg and the first time through Holyrood Park. They will then face three classified climbs on the final circuit before a downhill to the finish line where the overall winner will be crowned.



Top News on the Race