Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco 2018

Latest News from the Race

Wedged between the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix, the Pais Vasco is a key stage race for climbers and general classification riders. The stage race is also a key preparation event for the Ardennes classics with the plethora of short, and punchy ascents across the parcours.

For 2018, the race has attracted another strong start list starting with the home Movistar team. Mikel Landa and Nairo Quintana lead the Spanish squad and will be a formidable duo across the six stages. The Movistar duo aren't the only contenders though with the likes of Romain Bardet (AG2R-La Mondiale), the Izagirre brothers on Bahrain-Merida, Richie Porte and Tejay van Garderen (BMC), Julian Alaphilippe (QuickStep-Floors), Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo), Rigoberto Uran (EF Education-Drapac), Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin), Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky), and Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) all set to pin on a race number in the Basque Country.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final 2017 general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team20:41:25
2Alberto Contador (Spa) Trek-Segafredo0:00:17
3Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida0:00:21
4David De La Cruz (Spa) Quick-Step Floors0:00:44
5Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:00:59
6Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates0:01:19
7Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe0:01:40
8Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky0:01:51
9Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac0:01:56
10Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha-Alpecin0:02:01

Top News on the Race