Emakumeen Bira 2018

Latest News from the Race

Enamkumeen Bira - Overview

Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) took a solo victory in the finale stage 4 at the Women's WorldTour Emakumeen Bira, claiming the overall title in the 2018 edition of the race.

Spratt won the final stage in Iurreta by 1:16 ahead of chasing duo Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5) and Olga Zabelinskaya (Cogeas).

The victory bumped her up into the top spot of the overall classification and she won the title ahead of her teammate and stage 2 winner Annemiek Van Vleuten by 48 seconds. Anna van der Breggen (Boels Dolmans) finished third overall, 59 seconds back.

2018 Emakumeen Bira - top 10 Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women3:19:25
2Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High50:01:16
3Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus) CogeasRow 2 - Cell 2
4Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) Movistar Team Women0:02:12
5Ane Santesteban (Spa) Ale CipolliniRow 4 - Cell 2
6Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling TeamRow 6 - Cell 2
8Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans CyclingteamRow 7 - Cell 2
9Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott WomenRow 8 - Cell 2
10Anouska Koster (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team0:02:40
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification after stage 4
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women9:50:26
2Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott Women0:00:48
3Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:59
4Georgia Williams (NZl) Mitchelton Scott Women0:01:20
5Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High50:01:27
6Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:01:42
7Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus) Cogeas0:01:52
8Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team0:02:07
9Clara Koppenburg (Ger) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:02:34
10Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) Movistar Team Women0:03:13



Emakumeen Bira is the newest addition to the 2018 Women's WorldTour. It was one of three new events added to the series, expanding it to 23 events this season. The race is held from May 19-22 in Spain.

The Spanish race has been around for 30 years, so it's hard to believe that this the first year it is part of the Women's WorldTour. Lots of climbing make this event one of the most challenging stage races outside of the Giro Rosa.

This year, however, the best teams in the world are forced to choose between racing in Emakumeen Bira or the Tour of California, as the two races overlap by one day.

Anna van der Breggen and her Boels Dolmans team have confirmed that they will compete at Emakumeen Bira this year.

Past winners include Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Emma Johansson, Kasia Niewiadoma and Pauline Ferrand-Prévot.

2018 Emakumeen Bira:

Stage 1: Saturday, May 19, 2018 - Legazpi - Legazpi, 108km

Stage 2: Sunday, May 20, 2018 - Gazteiz-Vitoria - Gazteiz-Vitoria, 27km

Stage 3: Monday, May 21, 2018 - Aretxabaleta - Aretxabaleta, 22km

Stage 4: Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - Iurreta - Iurreta, 50km



Top News on the Race

Related Features