Vuelta a España stage 11: Iturria stuns breakaway companions - Video highlights

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Mikel Iturria (Euskadi-Murias)  won stage 11 of the Vuelta a España after a solo breakaway that succeeded to the finish line in Urdax-Dantxarinea. The Spaniard attacked his breakaway companions with 25km to go, and then held off the chasers to take the prestigious victory.

He formed part of an initial 14-rider move that cleared the field near the start of the 180km stage from from Saint-Palais to Urdax. Iturria finished the stage just six seconds ahead of runner-up Jonathan Lastra (Caja-Rural) and Lawson Craddock (EF Education First). 

After the remnants of that original breakaway crossed the line, the main field came in nearly 20 minutes down.

The large gap, however, did not disrupt the overall classification, where Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) maintained his overall lead by 1:52 ahead of Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and 2:11 over Miguel Angel López (Astana.

Watch the stage 11 highlights below.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.