Van Avermaet: I'm glad I was able to follow Van Aert and Van der Poel for once

Belgian Greg Van Avermaet of AG2R Citroen Team and Dutch Mathieu van der Poel of AlpecinFenix pictured in action during the E3 Saxo Bank Classic cycling race 2039km from and to Harelbeke Friday 26 March 2021 BELGA PHOTO DIRK WAEM Photo by DIRK WAEMBELGA MAGAFP via Getty Images
Greg Van Avermaet (AG2R Citroën) (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

AG2R Citroën placed two riders in the winning move at the E3 Saxo Bank Classic, but Greg Van Avermaet and Oliver Naesen still found themselves outnumbered and outflanked by Deceuninck-QuickStep, who claimed victory through Kasper Asgreen.

Naesen and Van Avermaet found themselves in a leading group of seven riders after the final climb of the Tiegemberg, but they had to settle for fourth and sixth, respectively, after Asgreen jumped clear with 5km to go.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.