Van Aert named in Belgian team for Cyclo-cross Worlds

Wout van Aert
Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) (Image credit: Getty Images)

Wout Van Aert earned selection for the Belgian team for the 2020 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships which take place on February 2 in Dübendorf, Switzerland. The country's national coach Sven Vanthourenhout has been assured that Van Aert will be at his best for the championships after making his return in December from the devastating leg wound he suffered in last July's Tour de France.

Although ranked behind two compatriots who were not selected (Gianni Vermeersch and Jens Adams), Van Aert, a former triple world champion in the discipline, can play a key role in the team's main goal: making it difficult for the dominant Mathieu van der Poel to win back-to-back titles in the elite men's race.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.