Tour de France: Which GC contenders lost time on first summit finish

Team Jumbo rider Slovenias Primoz Roglic celebrates as he crosses the finish line to win the 4th stage of the 107th edition of the Tour de France cycling race 157 km between Sisteron and OrcieresMerlette on September 1 2020 Photo by AnneChristine POUJOULAT POOL AFP Photo by ANNECHRISTINE POUJOULATPOOLAFP via Getty Images
Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) (Image credit: Getty Images)

The time deficits were relatively small in the grand scheme of things but stage 4 still saw several climbers and potential GC contenders at the Tour de France lose time on the first summit finish of the race.

The most high-profile rider to ship time was Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe) with the German, who finished fourth in last year’s Tour de France, losing nine seconds, plus bonuses to stage winner and rival Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma).

Buchmann came into the Tour on the back of a crash at the Critérium du Dauphiné that threatened his participation in this year’s Tour and on the shallow slopes of the Orcières-Merlette he should have been able to match the pace set by his rivals. He trailed home in 17th place, just ahead of Movistar’s hope for the race Enric Mas.  

"I felt OK until 1.5km to go, then they started to go really fast and I was a bit too much behind," Buchmann said at the finish.

"And then, I couldn't follow, it was a bit too much. I don't have any pain anymore, it's getting better and better. I'm not at 100 percent now but I hope the next days it will get better. There's still along way to Paris and a lot more mountain stages."

Richard Carapaz, who was touted as a possible GC contender alongside defending champion Egan Bernal, faired worse, losing 28 seconds on the lead group of 16. While Rigoberto Urán managed to hold the pace for EF Pro Cycling, the same couldn’t be said for Sergio Higuita, who finished in the same group as Carapaz, and his EF Pro Cycling teammate, Dani Martínez.

As for the rest of the GC contenders, Tadej Pogačar, Nairo Quintana, Thibaut Pinot, Miguel Angel Lopez, Bauke Mollema, Richie Porte, Tom Dumoulin and Bernal, all finished the same time as Roglič. 

The Slovenian now sits in third overall, seven seconds off Julian Alaphilippe’s race lead.

Bernal remains in sixth place on GC, 17 seconds off the race lead, although he momentarily showed signs of weakness when he failed to follow Roglic's acceleration. The Colombian has his eye on the final week.

"It was really fast and a really short climb, punchy in the final. It was a good climb to see how the GC riders are. I’m happy to arrive with them because it was really hard," he said.

"It’s not good when another GC rider gets some seconds but I think we need to be patient and know that our best scenario is to arrive in the third week without losing too much time and then trying to recover time on the long climbs. We want to arrive as fresh as we can in the final week."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
GC riders' results on stage 4
PlaceRider (Country) TeamResult
1Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma04:07:47
2Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team EmiratesRow 1 - Cell 2
3Guillaume Martin (Fra) CofidisRow 2 - Cell 2
4Nairo Quintana (Col) Team Arkea-SamsicRow 3 - Cell 2
5Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickstepRow 4 - Cell 2
6Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Astana Pro TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7Egan Arley Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos GrenadiersRow 6 - Cell 2
8Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJRow 7 - Cell 2
9Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Bahrain McLarenRow 8 - Cell 2
10Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-ScottRow 9 - Cell 2
11Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Jumbo-VismaRow 10 - Cell 2
12Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-ScottRow 11 - Cell 2
13Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-SegafredoRow 12 - Cell 2
14Richie Porte (Aus) Trek-SegafredoRow 13 - Cell 2
15Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Pro CyclingRow 14 - Cell 2
16Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R la MondialeRow 15 - Cell 2
17Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:09
18Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar TeamRow 17 - Cell 2
21Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:21
24Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers0:00:28
26Daniel Felipe Martinez Poveda (Col) EF Pro CyclingRow 20 - Cell 2
27Sergio Andres Higuita Garcia (Col) EF Pro CyclingRow 21 - Cell 2
36Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates0:01:17

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.