Skip to main content

Tour de France: Standings at the 2021 race

Tour de France 2021 108th Edition 21th stage Chatou Paris Champs Elysees 1084 km 18072021 Tadej Pogacar SLO UAE Team Emirates Mark Cavendish GBR Deceuninck QuickStep photo Dario BelingheriBettiniPhoto2021
Mark Cavendish won the green points jersey while Tadej Pogačar won the yellow jersey, and also claimed the KOM and best young rider jerseys (Image credit: Bettini Photo)

Arm in arm with his UAE Team Emirates teammates, whose jerseys had been customised with a yellow strip across its front, Tadej Pogačar rode into Paris as the winner of the 2021 Tour de France. Conforming to the long tradition of a largely-neutralised final stage, there was no change in the overall standings.

In the end, the final general classification was separated by crater-like time gaps as Pogačar blew the race apart on multiple occasions. For the first time since Bradley Wiggins’ victory in 2012 only those on the podium finished within 10 minutes of the yellow jersey, while, for the first time ever, each rider in the top 14 represented a different team.

Second placed Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) emerged as the closest challenger to Pogačar after Jumbo-Visma's leader Primoz Roglič crashed out in the first week of the race. He finished his first Tour de France 5:20 behind the yellow jersey.

Richard Carapaz, meanwhile, emerged as the strongest rider from an Ineos Grenadiers team stacked with three Grand Tour winners, but who could only muster a third-place overall at 7:03.

Expectations often dictate the significance of achievements; for Ben O’Connor (AG2R Citroën Team) a fourth place overall at 10:02 back, as well as an impressive stage win at Tignes, marked a career-defining achievement, and a result that justified the faith that his team demonstrated by offering him a four-year contract.

For Wilco Kelderman (Bora-Hansgrohë), too, a fifth place at 10:13 signified his best result in the Tour de France. A minute and thirty seconds behind Kelderman, Enric Mas (Movistar Team) backed up his fifth place finish last year with a sixth place at 11:43.

Seventh place was occupied by Alexey Lutsenko (Astana-Premier Tech) who metamorphosised from a stage chaser into a GC contender to finish 12:23 behind Pogačar. A perennial GC contender who finally fulfilled his potential by achieving a top-10 placing at the Tour de France was Guillaume Martin (Cofidis), this year’s best placed Frenchman, in eighth at 15:33.

Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious) in ninth and Rigoberto Urán (EF Education-Nippo) in 10th completed the remaining spots on the first page of the general classification, 16:04 and 18:34, respectively, behind Pogačar.

Stage 21 results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 2:39:37
2Jasper Philipsen (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
3Mark Cavendish (GBr) Deceuninck-QuickStep
4Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team BikeExchange
5André Greipel (Ger) Israel Start-up Nation
6Danny van Poppel (Ned) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
7Michael Matthews (Aus) Team BikeExchange
8Alex Aranburu Deba (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech
9Cyril Barthe (Fra) B&B Hotels p/b KTM
10Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Qhubeka-NextHash

Final general classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 82:56:36
2Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 0:05:20
3Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers 0:07:03
4Ben O'Connor (Aus) AG2R Citroën Team 0:10:02
5Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:10:13
6Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 0:11:43
7Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana-Premier Tech 0:12:23
8Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis 0:15:33
9Pello Bilbao Lopez De Armentia (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:16:04
10Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education-Nippo 0:18:34

Points Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mark Cavendish (GBr) Deceuninck-QuickStep 337
2Michael Matthews (Aus) Team BikeExchange 291
3Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain Victorious 227
4Jasper Philipsen (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix 216
5Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 171
6Matej Mohoric (Slo) Bahrain Victorious 163
7Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 163
8Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 154
9Michael Mørkøv (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep 124
10Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 103

Mountains Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 107
2Wout Poels (Ned) Bahrain Victorious 88
3Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 82
4Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 68
5Nairo Quintana (Col) Team Arkea-Samsic 66
6Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers 56
7Ben O'Connor (Aus) AG2R Citroën Team 44
8Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 41
9David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 41
10Anthony Perez (Fra) Cofidis 37

Combativity Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Franck Bonnamour (Fra) B&B Hotels p/b KTM

Young Riders Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 82:56:36
2Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 0:05:20
3David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:21:50
4Aurélien Paret Peintre (Fra) AG2R Citroën Team 0:39:09
5Sergio Higuita Garcia (Col) EF Education-Nippo 1:09:16
6Valentin Madouas (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 2:11:39
7Neilson Powless (USA) EF Education-Nippo 2:13:33
8Mark Donovan (GBr) Team DSM 2:17:40
9Jonas Rutsch (Ger) EF Education-Nippo 2:29:33
10Brent Van Moer (Bel) Lotto Soudal 2:43:49

Teams Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bahrain Victorious 249:16:47
2EF Education-Nippo 0:19:12
3Jumbo-Visma 1:11:35
4Ineos Grenadiers 1:27:10
5AG2R Citroën Team 1:31:54
6Bora-Hansgrohe 1:36:44
7Trek-Segafredo 1:47:04
8Astana-Premier Tech 2:01:45
9Movistar Team 2:04:28
10UAE Team Emirates 2:38:08

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1