Record entries for Australian Open Road Championships

A record number of cyclists will line up in next week's Australian Open Road Championships in Mt Torrens, South Australia. The men's road race will feature 151 cyclists (93 elite and 58 U23) while the women's event will see 58 riders vie for the honour of wearing the green and gold national champion's jersey in 2006.

2005 Australian Cyclist of the Year, Robbie McEwen, has his eyes set on the prize of defending his 2005 road race crown but the field is full of potential Australian champions including ProTour riders Allan Davis, Luke Roberts, Cadel Evans, Matthew Hayman and Simon Gerrans along with last year's silver and bronze medallists Paul Crake and Robert McLachlan. The U23 riders in the combined event will be vying for their own jersey and with 2005 champion, Chris Sutton, back in Europe for his first year with ProTour team Cofidis, Victorian Will Walker has his eyes on the win. Last year, Walker claimed the silver medal in the U23 road race at the World Championships in Spain.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1