New stage and host town for BC Bike Race

The BC Bike Race (BCBR) announced its 2011 route including a new stage and host town. 2011 will be the fifth edition of the week-long mountain bike stage race in British Columbia. The race will run from July 2 to 9.

Campbell River, a small resource based town on the East Coast, has never previously been included in the BC Bike Race, but it will debut next summer as the host of a new stage, which will start and finish on the waterfront, offering amazing Base Camp views and a true taste of the West Coast. The BC Bike Race offers something new, route-wise, with each edition of the race.

After participants register in North Vancouver, they'll head out for day one in Cumberland and day two in Campbell River, both on Vancouver Island, before moving over to the Sunshine Coast and back onto the tried and true route. Though days three through seven - featuring Powell River, Sechelt, Squamish and Whistler - will remain in the same towns as last year, each one will see a small tweak to its course, perhaps even a purpose built trail just for the BC Bike Race.

While the BCBR prides itself on being the singletrack epic that sets the bar for 'trail' racing, the event will offer a "Challenge" version for the second year, which sends racers out for half the distance.

Chris Sheppard and Melanie McQuaid won the men's and women's solo divisions in 2010.  Duo division winners included Kris Sneddon & Barry Wicks (men), Alana Heise & Kate Aardal (women) and Geoff Kabush & Catharine Pendrel (mixed).

2011 BC Bike Race
July 2: Prologue - North Vancouver
July 3: Stage 1 - Cumberland
July 4: Stage 2 - Campbell River
July 5: Stage 3 - Powell River
July 6: Stage 4 - Earls Cove - Sechelt
July 7: Stage 5 - Sechelt - Langdale Ferry
July 8: Stage 6 - Squamish
July 9: Stage 7 - Whistler

See a video featuring the riding to be included in the Campbell River stage.


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1