Skip to main content

Manchester keirin full line-up announced

With a total prize list of £45,000 (€63,000/US$84,000), it's no surprise that the start list for the Special Keirin event on January 9 at the Manchester World Cup reads like a who's who of the world's top sprinters. (See Japan aiming for Keirin glory, January 1 News)

Organisers have released the full start list for the invitation-only event which is sponsored by the Japan Keirin Association. Japan is sending six of its top racers to Japan to ride against the likes of reigning world champion Jamie Staff and runner-up José Antonio Escuredo Raimondez, and 2002 world champion Jobie Dajka.

Full keirin start list: Jamie Staff (Great Britain), Jobie Dajka (Australia), Ben Kersten (Australia), Pavel Buran (Czech Republic), Ivan Vrba (Czech Republic), José Antonio Escuredo Raimondez (Spain), José Antonio Villanueva (Spain), Grégory Bauge (France), Mickael Bourgain (France), Ross Edgar (Great Britain), Craig MacLean (Great Britain), Matthias John (Germany), Jan Van Eijden (Germany), Rene Wolff (Germany), Domenico Mei (Italy), Takashi Kaneko (Japan), Kazuya Narita (Japan), Yusho Oikawa (Japan), Hiroshi Tsutsumi (Japan), Harutomo Watanabe (Japan), Yuji Yamamada (Japan), Josiah Ng Onn Lam (Malaysia), Theo Bos (Netherlands), Teun Mulder (Netherlands), Sergey Ruban (Russia), Jaroslav Jerabek (Slovak Republic), Andriy Vynokurov (Ukraine), Marty Nothstein (USA)

Japanese Reserves: Kei Uchida (Japan), Kazunari Watanabe (Japan),

International Reserves: Chris Hoy (Great Britain), Tim Veldt (Netherlands), Hervé Gane (France), Jason Queally (Great Britain), Jan Lepka (Slovak Republic)

For more information see the race website:

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1