Abbott to T-Mobile

Abbott in the climber's jersey

Abbott in the climber's jersey (Image credit: CJ Farquharson)

The T-Mobile women's professional team has chosen US National Champion Mara Abbott to join its squad for 2008. The team announced a team of 13 riders on Thursday, keeping ten members from this year's squad and adding Abbott and two German riders, German Road Champion Luise Keller and young rider Madeleine Sandig.

The rest of the team is the same with the exception of Dutch rider Susanne de Goede, who was not listed.

The T-Mobile team had a successful 2007 season, thanks to Judith Arndt's trio of stage wins in the Giro d'Italia Femminile and overall victory in the Thuringen-Rundfahrt as well as a World Cup win in Sweden by Chantal Beltman. Overall, the team racked up total of 31 victories and finished ranked number one on the UCI rankings.

Team director Anna Wilson gave a clue about the team's ambitions for next season. "We will be aiming to win the early World Cups of the season and maintain our status as the number one team in the world. That is a huge feather in our cap and one that we are very proud of as we place teamwork as the most important pillar of the team."

Other changes include the addition of a second team director in Ronny Lauke, who is coming from the men's Wiesenhof continental team. Kristy Scrymgeour will continue to manage the team, and Petra Rossner will stay on as the coach.

Full roster: Mara Abbott (USA), Kim Anderson (USA), Judith Arndt (Germany), Kate Bates (Australia), Chantal Beltman (Netherlands), Luise Keller (Germany), Emilia Fahlin (Sweden), Alex Rhodes (Australia), Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Germany), Madeleine Sandig (Germany), Linda Villumsen (Denmark), Anke Wichmann (Germany), Oenone Wood (Australia).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Laura Weislo
Managing Editor

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Managing Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. As former elite-level road racer who dabbled in cyclo-cross and track, Laura has a passion for all three disciplines. When not working she likes to go camping and explore lesser traveled roads, paths and gravel tracks. Laura's specialises in covering doping, anti-doping, UCI governance and performing data analysis.