Tostado, Kirkland claim solo titles

13 national titles awarded in Moab

Thirteen national titles were awarded on Sunday as the nation’s top ultra endurance mountain bikers wrapped up 24 grueling hours of racing at the USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships, which for the second year in a row were held in conjunction with the 24 Hours of Moab.

Josh Tostado successfully defended his title in the men’s solo division, completing 18 laps of the 15-mile circuit to take the win over rival Kelly Magelky, who completed 17 laps for the silver medal, and Cary Smith,  who raced 16 laps for the bronze.

Jari Kirkland put forth a dominating performance to win the women’s solo category, logging15 laps under her belt to ride into the stars-and-stripes jersey. Kris Cannon grabbed the silver medal with 13 laps while Laureen Coffelt completed 12 laps for the bronze.

On his singlespeed bike, Cameron Chambers completed 16 laps and climbed onto the top step of the podium in the men’s solo singlespeed contest. He beat out second-place finisher Shawn Gregory and third-place rider Brian Lehman, who completed 15 and 14 laps respectively.

Cat Morrison rode for 11 laps on her singlespeed to earn the national title in the women’s solo singlespeed championship over silver medalist Karen Rishel and bronze medalist Heather Thiry.

The Honey Stinger/Trek duo of Sarah Anderson and Max Taam  finished 19 laps, beating their nearest opponents by two laps, to take the victory in the mixed duo championship.

The Hammer Duo of Ben Parsons and Clint Muhlfeld defeated six other pairs in the men’s duo championship, completing 20 laps for their stars-and-stripes jerseys.

The Lil’ Girls on Big Wheels duo of Kara Holley and Sarah Kaufmann won the women’s duo national title after riding for 16 laps.

With a total of 22 laps, the Honey Stinger/Trek fouresome of Len Zanni, Kalan Beisel, Ross Schnell, and Jay Henry took the national title in the men's four-person competition.

Covering 16 laps in 24 hours, the Kent Brothers Women’s Team of Heidi Gaskill, Anya Weschler, Heidi Rentz, and Laurel Douglas earned the podium’s top step in the women's four-person category.

The Quadruple Gnar II squad of Casey Williams, Tyler Coplea, Travis Glysson, and Zach Valdez covered 19 laps for a total of 285 miles to take the national title in the junior men's competition.

The men's masters (35+) competition was quite close with the top two squads both completing a whopping 20 laps of the 15-mile circuit and the victory going to the Basalt Bike & Ski/ESC squad of Jason Lapointe, Joel Mischke, Charlie Eckart, and Mike Scanlon in the end.

The Nutzy Girlz Justin’s/Titus team of Coreen Wright, Kay Levesque, Stacy Moller and Michelle Slingsby took the top step of the podium in the women’s masters (35+) group with 15 laps.

Justin’s Nuts team of Michael Hogan, Drew Greer, Keith Sanders and Thomas Dooley combined their efforts to complete 19 laps over the 24 hours to grab the national title in the men's masters (45+) group.

It was the second year in a row that the 24 Hours of Moab hosted the US 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships. In addition to all of the championship categories that were contested, riders competed in various non-championship categories in both 12- and 24-hour divisions.

Full Results

Men solo
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joshua Tostado  
2Kelly Magelky  
3Cary Smith  
4Ben Koenig  
5Ernesto Marenchin  
6Nate Ginzton  
7Travis Macy  
8Michael Scott  
9Andrew Carney  
10Ezekiel Hersh  
11Jonathan Davis  
12Matt Juth  
13Sampson Bruesewitz  
14Brian White  
15Jonathan Sykes  
16Will Baker  
Women solo
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jari Kirkland  
2Kristen Cannon  
3Laureen Coffelt  
4Timari Pruis  
5Renee Kline  
6Elizabeth Boese  
Men solo singlespeed
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Cameron Chambers  
2Shawn Gregory  
3Brian Lehman  
4Bradley Grohusky  
5Jordan Williford  
6Judd Rohwer  
7Mike Harrison  
8Tom Mcdonald  
Women solo singlespeed
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Catherine Morrison  
2Karen Rishel  
3Heather Thiry  
Mixed duo
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sarah Anderson & Max Taam  
2Heidi Volpe & Mario Correa  
3Liz Baumgardt & Jim Simons  
Men duo
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ben Parsons & Clint Muhlfeld  
2Nate Bird & Dax Massey  
3Bryan Taylor & Romolo Forcino  
4Thomas Taylor & Paul Tanguay  
5Matt Woodruff & Alex Phipps  
6Joshua Cullen & Mike Armstrong  
7Patrick Miranda & Marc Calder  
Women duo
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1KC Holley & Sarah Kaufmann  
Men four-person team
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Len Zanni, Kalan Beisel, Ross Schnell & Jay Henry  
2Cameron Brenneman, Michael Mccalla, Walt Wehner & Macky Franklin  
3Dustin Phillips, Phil Grove, Matt Butterfield & Colin Cares  
4Christopher Holley, Charles Gibson, Greg Gibson & Noah Talley  
5David Ochs, Jon Brown, Travis Scheefer & Ethan Passant  
6Adam Jensen, Toby Meierbachtol, Kiefer Hahn & Douglas Shryock  
7Damon Gilbert, Nathaniel Hills, Robert Garcia & Kyle Mears  
8Curt Wilhelm, David Wert, Leslie Handy & Jean Paul Matthews  
Women four-person team
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Heidi Gaskill, Heidi Rentz, Laurel Douglas & Anya Weschler  
2Lynn Bush, Brenda Moczygemba, Jane Rynbrandt & Melissa Marts  
Junior men 18 & under
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Casey Williams, Tyler Coplea, Travis Glysson & Zachary Valdez  
2Zane Enders, Joshua Elston, Conner Smith & Larsson Johnson  
Master men 35+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jason Lapointe, Joel Mischke, Charlie Eckart & Michael Scanlon  
2Mike Gibbs, Ed Oliver, Stephen White & Mark Roebke  
3Dave Wright, Kirk Roberts, David Slingsby & Andy Leifer  
4Larry Oneil, David Harward, Frederick Porter & Glen Adams  
5Eric Skalski, Michael Everett, Hans Garcia & Joe Alligood  
Master women 35+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Coreen Wright, Kay Levesque, Stacy Moller & Michelle Slingsby  
Master men 45+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michael Hogan, Geoffrey (Drew) Geer, Keith Sanders & Thomas Dooley  
2Scott Bristol, Michael Carpenter, Billy Schaaphok & Aaron Countryman  
3Joseph Phillippino, John Johnson, Gary Bonenfant & John Bache  
Back to top