Compton captures Kalmthout World Cup

'Cross world champ Vos runner-up

Katie Compton (Planet Bike) netted her third World Cup win of the season in Kalmthout, Belgium. Fresh from grabbing her seventh US title Compton waited until the third of five laps to surge away from Sanne van Paassen (BrainWash) and Katerina Nash (Luna). World champion Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) needed a lot of time to reach the front of the race due to a bad start position. She arrived at the head of affairs too late to threaten Compton and eventually finished as runner-up 30 seconds behind the American champion.

"I just like this course a lot: it's super fun and technical," said Compton. "First I got stuck in traffic after a slow start. Patience was key today. I was just waiting to move up. Once in front I put the pressure on because Marianne [Vos] was coming fast."

Czech champion Nash claimed the last podium spot ahead of new World Cup leader Van Paassen. Previous leader Daphny van den Brand ( didn't start in Kalmthout due to illness.

Van Paassen was pleased to see that despite the lack of wins she's now in the lead of the World Cup. "Everybody seems to be skipping some rounds so maybe I should stay home next week to celebrate Christmas," Van Paassen joked. "It's clear you have to be up there every race. Holding the jersey motivates me for the remaining rounds."

Vos, the reigning cyclo-cross world champion, had to start at the back of the bunch. As she has been focusing on the track rather than cyclo-cross in recent weeks she hadn't gathered any UCI cyclo-cross points so far. Despite the disadvantage, Vos managed to move up 40 places and into seventh place after a single lap. Five riders were leading the race at that moment: Van Paassen, Nash, Cant and Hanka Kupfernagel (Itera-Stevens) were the early leaders, and they were joined by the end of the first lap by Compton.

The pace set by Nash during the second lap put Kupfernagel in trouble. Vos quickly caught up with the strong German rider who won the previous day's Scheldecross. At the end of the second lap, the four remaining leaders had 12 seconds on Vos and Kupfernagel.

Van Paassen and Compton battled for the lead position going into the third lap while Cant started losing ground. Once Compton accelerated, however, there was no longer talk of a lead group. By the time Nash maneuvered past Van Paassen, Compton was gone. Compton showed her excellent skills, particularly on a technical twisting section that featured some deep mud.

While Nash and Van Paassen were forced to hop off the bike, Compton powered away. A little later, Vos came through showing the same skills.

With two laps to go Compton had six seconds on Nash, her closest pursuer; Vos was riding in fourth place 17 seconds down on the leader. In the same muddy section Compton repeated her feats of the previous lap while Nash got stuck and Van Paassen actually crashed into the mud.

"It's too bad because I was starting to go better. From then on I felt cold and got cramps," Van Paassen said.

With one lap to go the three chasers behind Compton joined together and trailed the leader by 23 seconds. Compton was consistent in front and easily held on to her lead, winning on "home" soil. "When travelling to Belgium we live only three kilometres away from the course so this felt like a home race," Compton said.

Behind her all three chasers started to stumble but Vos managed to shake off Nash and Van Paassen and claimed second place, 30 seconds down on Compton.

"There's still room for improvement as I crashed twice during the last lap," Vos said.

For the third time Nash finished third in a World Cup race this season and this time it was received with mixed feelings. "Vos caught up with us on the pavement and I happened to crash right behind her. Afterwards I still came close but not enough; I'm pretty happy though," Nash said.

Full Results
1Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike-Stevens Bikes0:38:18 
2Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit0:00:31 
3Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team0:00:35 
4Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash0:00:47 
5Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:01:19 
6Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)0:01:29 
7Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Itera-Stevens0:01:38 
8Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team0:01:59 
9Sophie de Boer (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:02:09 
10Arenda Grimberg (Ned)0:02:10 
11Sabrina Schweizer (Ger)  
12Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team0:02:11 
13Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona0:02:21 
14Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC0:02:22 
15Ellen Van Loy (Bel)0:02:35 
16Linda van Rijen (Ned)0:02:39 
17Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash  
18Sabine Spitz (Ger) Central Pro Team  
19Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope0:02:47 
20Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope0:03:10 
21Caroline Mani (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope0:03:14 
22Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-RENNER0:03:18 
23Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru0:03:26 
24Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)0:03:35 
25Martina Zwick (Ger)0:03:39 
26Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:04:01 
27Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned)0:04:22 
28Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team0:04:32 
29Martina Mikulaskova (Cze)0:04:34 
30Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Hitec Products UCK  
31Anne Arnouts (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team0:04:53 
32Daniela Bresciani (Ita)0:05:01 
33Elke Riedl (Aut)0:05:07 
34Eva Colin (Fra)  
35Ayako Toyooka (Jpn)0:05:08 
36Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team0:05:12 
37Gertie Willems (Bel)0:05:20 
38Meredith Miller (USA) California Giant-Specialized  
39Genevieve Whitson (NZl)0:05:32 
40Nikoline Hansen (Den)0:05:40 
41Nathalie Nijns (Bel)0:05:42 
42Nicoletta Bresciani (Ita)0:05:54 
43Katrien Thijs (Bel) Edegem Bicycle Club V.Z.W.0:05:57 
44Suzie Godart (Lux) Fenixs-Petrogradets0:06:03 
45Christine Majerus (Lux) Esgl 93 - GSD Gestion -1lap 
46Lana Verberne (Ned)  
47Amélie Morel Petitgirard (Fra) VC Ornans  
Elite Women World Cup standings after round 4
1Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash185pts
2Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike-Stevens Bikes180 
3Daphny van den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.nl150 
4Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team135 
5Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus129 
6Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team113 
7Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona107 
8Sophie de Boer (Ned) ZZPR.nl102 
9Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Itera-Stevens98 
10Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope96 
11Caroline Mani (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope76 
12Arenda Grimberg (Ned)74 
13Sabrina Schweizer (Ger)71 
14Linda van Rijen (Ned)71 
15Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team59 
16Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC59 
17Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash55 
18Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit50 
19Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) ZZPR.nl49 
20Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)45 
21Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope45 
22Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)39 
23Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-RENNER38 
24Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru36 
25Ellen Van Loy (Bel)36 
26Martina Zwick (Ger)29 
27Amy Dombroski (USA) Luna Pro Team24 
28Jana Kyptova (Cze)22 
29Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team22 
30Martina Mikulaskova (Cze)15 
31Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel) APB Cycling Team15 
32Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)14 
33Sabine Spitz (Ger) Central Pro Team13 
34Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned)8 
35Gertie Willems (Bel)7 
36Helena van Leijen (Ned)5 
37Daniela Bresciani (Ita)3 
38Dorota Warczyk (Pol)2 
39Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Hitec Products UCK1 
40Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team1 
41Francesca Cucciniello (Ita) Guerciotti1 


Related Articles

Back to top