Terpstra wins Sparkassen Giro

Boivin, Greipel round out top three

Dutch champion Niki Terpstra (Team Milram) claimed a solo victory at the Sparkassen Giro. Terpstra attacked on the final climb to take a solo victory, with a margin of just 10 seconds over the six remaining breakaway riders that crossed the line together.

After winning the Tour of Poland’s final stage a day earlier André Greipel (Team HTC – Columbia) didn’t have the legs to match Canadian Guillaume Boivin (Spidertech-Planet Energy) in the sprint for second place. Robert Retschke (Continental Team Differdange) dropped out of the lead group on the final climb, finishing a further five seconds behind in eighth place.

“That was a great performance by our team,” said Team Milram directeur sportif Jochen Hahn. “We wanted to make the race hard from the very beginning, since we had no classic sprinter with us, and also had great respect for the fast riders in the field, like Andre Greipel.

“Our two stagiaires Stefan Schäfer and Michael Weicht were very good today and were a great support for the team,” he added. “And then Niki Terpstra was our man for the finale, he attacked at the right moment and crowned our team's work with a victory. Everything went exactly as we had planned.”

Milram had kicked off the attacks early on with Australia’s Luke Roberts one of the first to go. Roberts moved ahead of the peloton with HTC-Columbia’s Tony Martin, before being caught by the peloton.

The race splintered 120 kilometres in, with a group of 40 moving ahead of the peloton. That group was narrowed down to eight as Terpstra started to show his cards with an attack at 20 kilometres remaining.

Full Results

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Niki Terpstra (Ned) Team Milram3:50:46 
2Guillaume Boivin (Can) Spidertech Powered By Planet Energy0:00:10 
3André Greipel (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia  
4Eric Baumann (Ger) Team Netapp  
5Steven Caethoven (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
6Vojtech Hacecky (Cze) Atlas Personal  
7David Hesselbarth (Ger) Team Heizomat  
8Robert Retschke (Ger) Continental Team Differdange0:00:15 
9David Boily (Can) Spidertech Powered By Planet Energy0:01:00 
10Geert Verheyen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
11Clemens Fankhauser (Aut) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
12Hakan Nilsson (Swe) Continental Team Differdange  
13Jarno Gmelich (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
14Daniel Schorn (Aut) Team Netapp0:01:10 
15Felix Rinker (Ger) Team Heizomat  
16Matthew Brammeier (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly  
17Peter Schulting (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
18Jelle Posthuma (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
19Frank Danie Wagner (Ger) Seven Stones  
20Philipp Mamos (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
21Stefan Schäfer (Ger) Team Milram  
22Jonas Schmeiser (Ger) Team Heizomat  
23Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team Netapp  
24Patrick Bercz (Ger) Seven Stones  
25Guillau Dessibourg (Swi) Atlas Personal  
26Reto Hollenstein (Swi) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
27Mig Rubiano Chavez (Col) Meridiana Kamen Team  
28Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team Netapp  
29Koen Barbe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
30Bruno Langlois (Can) Spidertech Powered By Planet Energy  
31Josef Benetseder (Aut) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
32René Obst (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
33Sébastian Baldauf (Ger) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
34Connor McConvey (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly  
35Jan Barta (Cze) Team Netapp  
36Mark Mcnally (GBr) An Post - Sean Kelly  
37Nicolas Baldo (Fra) Atlas Personal  
38Robert Nagy (Svk) Dukla Trencin Merida0:01:20 
39Roger Beuchat (Swi) CKT Tmit - Champion System0:02:29 
40Pim De Beer (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:04:20 


Related Articles

Back to top