Windham the icing on Graves' World Cup cake

Australian wraps up series with a win

The four cross World Cup series concluded on Saturday evening, with the crowning of Jared Graves (Yeti Fox Shox), who had already locked up the title, as he finished the season the way he started it - taking a victory.

The natural terrain that highlighted the Windham course made for some tight racing, with passes and crashes meaning that no one was assured of moving on through the heats until they crossed the finish line.

Graves qualified first and then easily rode away from everyone in each heat. There were no real surprises in the line up for the final, with Graves joined by his regular rivals from RSP 4 Cross Racing - Tomas Slavik and Joost Wichman - plus Michal Prokop (Agang Racing).

Out of the gate it was Graves and Wichman battling, with Prokop and Slavik just behind. Wichman hit the corner too hot and had to go wide, allowing Graves to get by. The other three got tangled up fighting for position, but in the end Prokop took the silver medal, followed by Slavik and Wichman.

Graves finished the season with four wins in six races, for 660 points, followed by Slavik at 475 and Wichman at 385.

"That final was pretty crazy up at the top. I saw Joost coming in [to the first corner] foot out, sliding, and I sort of had a feeling something like that was gonna happen," said Graves.

"Lane one was the inside, but it lined up terribly with the first corner, which made it really hard. But I saw him early enough that I could get on the brakes a bit and let him go, knew he was gonna come out wide and then go back past him on the second straight. From there is was smooth and good, so I'm really happy with that one.

"My goal was to get a win, here especially with the world championships next week. It is really good for the confidence. [I'm] really happy to get a win here. First time back in America for a World Cup in five years, and with Yeti being an American company, it's great to get the win for them."

Full Results

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team  
2Michal Prokop (Cze) Agang Racing  
3Tomas Slavik (Cze) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team  
4Joost Wichman (Ned) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team  
5Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze)  
6Carlos Mario Oquendo Zabala (Col)  
7Quentin Derbier (Fra)  
8Fabien Cousinie (Fra) Blackmountain Morewood United  
9Cédric Gracia (Fra)  
10Michal Marosi (Cze) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team  
11Jurg Meijer (Ned) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team  
12Harold Woolnough (Can)  
13Filip Polc (Svk) MS Evil Racing  
14Blake Carney (USA)  
15Randal Huntington (Aus)  
16Jamas Stiber (USA)  
17Johannes Fischbach (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team  
18Jakub Riha (Cze)  
19Barry Nobles (USA)  
20Nico Seidel (Ger)  
21Cody Eichhorn (Aus)  
22Ryan Hunt (Aus)  
23Erik Nelson (USA)  
24Lear Miller (USA)  
25Scott Roberts (GBr)  
26Roger Rinderknecht (Swi)  
27Hannes Slavik (Aut) RC Alpine Commencal Austria  
28William Evans (GBr)  
29Scott Beaumont (GBr) Rocky Mountain UK  
30Matt Zdriluk (Can)  
31Daniel Franks (NZl)  
32Petr Hanák (Cze)  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1RSP 4 Cross Racing Team78 pts
2Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team40 
3Agang Racing35 
4Suspension Center20 
5Blackmountain Morewood United16 
6MS Evil Racing8 
Final World Cup individual standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team660 pts
2Tomas Slavik (Cze) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team475 
3Joost Wichman (Ned) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team385 
4Michal Prokop (Cze) Agang Racing333 
5Michal Marosi (Cze) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team223 
6Roger Rinderknecht (Swi)205 
7Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze)184 
8Johannes Fischbach (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team111 
9Romain Saladini (Fra) Team Sunn Montgenevre100 
10Quentin Derbier (Fra)79 
11Dan Atherton (GBr) Commencal67 
12Jakub Riha (Cze)64 
13Scott Beaumont (GBr) Rocky Mountain UK64 
14David Graf (Swi)58 
15Cédric Gracia (Fra)48 
16Guido Tschugg (Ger) Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team46 
17Carlos Mario Oquendo Zabala (Col)40 
18Jurg Meijer (Ned) RSP 4 Cross Racing Team39 
19Filip Polc (Svk) MS Evil Racing38 
20Lukas Mechura (Cze)30 
21Fabien Cousinie (Fra) Blackmountain Morewood United25 
22Robert Kulesza (Pol)25 
23Jakub Hnidak (Cze)21 
24Mickael Deldycke (Fra)20 
25Premek Tejchman (Cze)17 
26Sidney Gerber (Swi)17 
27Petr Muhlhans (Cze)16 
28William Evans (GBr)14 
29Harold Woolnough (Can)11 
30Peter Prajczer (Hun)11 
31Tom Dowie (GBr)11 
32David Habicht (Aus)11 
33Felix Beckeman (Swe)11 
34Clément Doby (Fra)11 
35Reto Schmid (Swi)8 
36Hannes Slavik (Aut) RC Alpine Commencal Austria8 
37Blake Carney (USA)6 
38Johnny Magis (Bel)6 
39Luka Novak (Slo)6 
40Randal Huntington (Aus)4 
41Michael Mechura (Cze)4 
42Jamas Stiber (USA)2 
43Simon Waldburger (Swi)2 
44Richard Levinson (Aus)2 
45Daniel Fülle (Ger)2 
46Marek Pesko (Svk)2 
Final World Cup team standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1RSP 4 Cross Racing Team455 pts
2Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team221 
3Suspension Center195 
4Agang Racing133 
5Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team90 
6Norco World Team70 
7Team Sunn Montgenevre46 
9Rocky Mountain UK40 
10Thoemus Racing Team28 
11MS Evil Racing26 
12Blackmountain Morewood United16 
13RC Alpine Commencal Austria15 
142Stage Factory5 
15Unior Tools Team3 
Back to top