Albasini tops breakaway on home soil

Visconti, Schumacher denied

Michael Albasini of HTC-Highroad, riding for the Swiss national team, won the GP Kanton Aargau. He outsprinted Italian champion Giovanni Visconti (Farnese Vini) and Stefan Schumacher (Miche). It was Albasini's second win of the season, with his stage victory in the Tour of Bayern coming only nine days ago.

Those three, along with Julien Loubet (AG2R), Davide Rebellin (Miche) and Julien Antomarchi (La Pomme Marseille) got away from the field shortly before the finish. Antomarchi attacked on the final climb of the final lap, with Rebellin the first to follow him. The other four riders joined them and sprinted for the win some seven seconds head of the peloton.

The race consisted of 15 laps of a difficult 12.1km course. David Rösch of Atlas Personal and Swiss champion Martin Elmiger (AG2R) were in an escape group which was caught with 25 km to go.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michael Albasini (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse4:25:18 
2Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
3Stefan Schumacher (Ger) MICHE - Guerciotti  
4Julien Antomarchi (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille  
5Julien Loubet (Fra) Ag2r la Mondiale  
6Davide Rebellin (Ita) MICHE - Guerciotti  
7Anthony Ravard (Fra) Ag2r la Mondiale0:00:07 
8Lloyd Mondory (Fra) Ag2r la Mondiale  
9Pirmin Lang (Swi) Atlas Personal  
10Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
11Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
12Pieter Serry (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
13Sander Armee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
14Romain Lemarchand (Fra) Ag2r la Mondiale0:00:11 
15Peter Kusztor (Hun) Atlas Personal0:00:38 
16Reinier Honig (Ned) Landbouwkrediet0:00:46 
17Sebastien Reichenbach (Swi) Atlas Personal  
18Jonathan Fumeaux (Swi) Atlas Personal  
19Aristide Ratti (Ita) Team WIT  
20Edwig Cammaerts (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
21Bernhard Oberholzer (Swi) PRICE YOUR BIKE  
22Constantino Zaballa (Spa) MICHE - Guerciotti  
23Yohan Cauquil (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille0:00:48 
24Martin Elmiger (Swi) Ag2r la Mondiale  
25Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
26Matti Helminen (Fin) Landbouwkrediet0:01:12 
27Nicolas Baldo (Fra) Atlas Personal  
28Davide Ricci Bitti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:01:15 
29Laurent Beuret (Swi) Atlas Personal  
30Kristof Goddaert (Bel) Ag2r la Mondiale0:01:29 
31Jan Keller (Swi) PRICE YOUR BIKE0:01:37 
32Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
33Elias Schmäh (Swi) PRICE YOUR BIKE  
34Guillaume Bourgeois (Swi) Team Champion Systems  
35Fausto Fognini (Ita) Team WIT  
36Geert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
37David Rösch (Ger) Atlas Personal  
38Steve Houanard (Fra) Ag2r la Mondiale  
39Juan Tamayo Martinez (Col) Team WIT0:02:41 
40Alejandro Tamayo Martinez (Col) Team WIT  
41Jelle Wallays (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
42Dimitri Champion (Fra) Ag2r la Mondiale0:03:22 
43Gianluca Mirenda (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:03:30 
44David Loosli (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse0:04:00 
45Silvan Dillier (Swi) Team Vorarlberg0:05:31 
46Marcel Aregger (Swi) PRICE YOUR BIKE  
47Roger Beuchat (Swi) Team Champion Systems  
48Stefan Pöll (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
49Sven Schelling (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse  
50Enrico Montanari (Ita) Team WIT  
51Diego Caccia (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
52Pierpaolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
53Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
54Toms Skujins (Lat) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille0:07:44 
55Toms Flaksis (Lat) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille0:08:57 
56Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet0:11:33 
57Joel Eglin (Swi) PRICE YOUR BIKE0:12:28 
58Leonardo Pinizotto (Ita) MICHE - Guerciotti  
59Volodymyr Zagorodniy (Ukr) MICHE - Guerciotti  
60Daniel Henggeler (Swi) PRICE YOUR BIKE  
61Clemens Fankhauser (Aut) Team Champion Systems  
62Wai Man Chau (HKg) Team Champion Systems  
63Evaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille  
64Benjamin Giraud (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille  
65Bart Dockx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFAndreas Dietziker (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse  
DNFOtavio Bulgarelli (Bra) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
DNFJulien Jules (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille  
DNFLuca Barla (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
DNFAntonio Santoro (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
DNFFlorian Salzinger (Ger) Atlas Personal  
DNFCristiano Fumagalli (Ita) MICHE - Guerciotti  
DNFBenjamin Gourgue (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
DNFStijn Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
DNFDeon Locke (Aus) Team Champion Systems  
DNFMartial Ricci Poggi (Fra) Team WIT  
DNFFrancesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
DNFAlessandro Bertolini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
DNFMichele Gaia (Ita) MICHE - Guerciotti  
DNFOmar Bertazzo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
DNFRolf Kobelt (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse  
DNFMartin Ojavee (Est) Team Champion Systems  
DNFTim Mertens (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
DNFGianluca Randazzo (Ita) MICHE - Guerciotti  
DNFDominik Brändle (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFRomain Beney (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse  
DNFAlexandre Mercier (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse  
DNFRoberto Ferrari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
DNFGiairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - C.I.P.I.  
DNFDaniel Gollmann (Aut) Team Champion Systems  
DNFMirco Saggiorato (Swi) Equipe Nationale Suisse  
DNFKajetan Fricke (Ger) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFMatic Strgar (Slo) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFMathieu Drouilly (Fra) Team WIT  
DNSCarlo Scognamiglio (Ita) Team Vorarlberg  
DNSNicolas Schnyder (Swi) PRICE YOUR BIKE  
DNSSteven Wong (HKg) Team Champion Systems  


Back to top