TechPowered By

More tech

French Road Championships 2010

Date range:
June 24-27, 2010

June 26, Elite women's road race: Chantonnay - Chantonnay 112.8km

Mélodie Lesueur takes French title

Stephen Farrand
June 26, 2010, 13:15 BST,
June 26, 2010, 23:21 BST

20 year-old stops Longo-Ciprelli taking another championship double

Mélodie Lesueur celebrates her solo win in the French championship.

Mélodie Lesueur celebrates her solo win in the French championship.

view thumbnail gallery

20 year-old Mélodie Lesueur won the women's French national road race title with a solo attack that left surprised her rivals and stopped Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli taking another time trial and road race double.

Lesueur attacked mid-race with Nadia Triquet-Claude of the strong Vienne-Futuroscope team, blocking the chase behind. But Lesueur then dropped Triquet-Claude on the rolling hills and soloed to victory.

Amélie Rivat (Rhône-Alpes), also just 20, finished 1:55 behind Lesueur, with Longo-Ciprelli taking the bunch sprint for third. At 51, Longo-Ciprelli is older than the two young riders put together.

"At first I thought about waiting for Nadia but I decided to focus on my race. On the last two laps I had cramp everywhere," Lesueur told l'

"The opportunists won today," Longo-Ciprelli said, admitting that the bunch an big names of French cycling failed to organise their chase soon enough.

1 Mélodie Lesueur (Esgl93-Gsdgestion) 3:07:08  
2 Amélie Rivat (Rhonealpes) 0:01:56  
3 Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (Rhonealpes) 0:03:59  
4 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Viennefuturoscope)    
5 Edwige Pitel (S.Cmichelafaninirecordrox)    
6 Audrey Cordon (Viennefuturoscope)    
7 Sophie Creux (Esgl93-Gsdgestion)    
8 Eugénie Mermillod (Esgl93-Gsdgestion)    
9 Béatrice Thomas (Esgl93-Gsdgestion)    
10 Mélanie Bravard (Esgl93-Gsdgestion)    
11 Emilie Blanquefort (Aquitaine)    
12 Marion Azam (Midipyrenees)    
13 Julie Krasniak ((Lorraine)    
14 Aude Biannic (Bretagne) 0:06:13  
15 Mélanie Ferrand (Rhonealpes) 0:06:29  
16 Vicky Fournial (Lorraine) 0:06:33  
17 Pascale Jeuland (Viennefuturoscope)    
18 Nadia Triquetclaude (Viennefuturoscope)    
19 Elodie Hegoburu (Esgl93-Gsdgestion)    
20 Marielaure Cloarec (Iledefrance)