Kenny beats Hoy to take British sprint crown

Kennaugh claims individual pursuit championship

Jason Kenny provided spectators with a show of sprinting supremacy at the National Track Championships in Manchester on Day four, by winning the National sprint title and beating four time Olympic champion Sir Chris Hoy along the way.

Despite qualifying only fourth fastest, the fast man from Bolton stepped it up a notch both technically and tactically in the later rounds and proved too much for the Scot in the semi-final, before beating Matt Crampton in the event's final.

Peter Kennaugh won his second National title of the championships after he clocked a time of 4:27.112 in the Men's Individual Pursuit beating last night's point race winner, George Atkins. Kennaugh looked comfortable throughout the day, as he recorded a time of 4:25.215 in qualifying, catching his opponent. Sam Harrison beat Jon Mould to claim the bronze.

Anna Blyth left it late to take gold after a tactical battle in the Women's point race. The 100% ME rider timed her attack perfectly on the last lap to capture the win. Dani King took the reigns leading into the last lap but Blyth came through to take her first national title, with Harriet Owens taking silver and King bronze.

In other action, Darren Kenny won the para-cycling pursuit title, while World and Paralympic champion Jody Cundy set a national record that earned him the bronze medal. He over took his rival, Tel Byrne and set a new benchmark time of 4:10.772.

Men's Sprint

Flying 200m Qualifying
1Chris Hoy0:00:10.233 
2Matt Crampton0:00:10.270 
3Peter Mitchell0:00:10.337 
4Jason Kenny0:00:10.339 
5Ross Edgar0:00:10.381 
6David Daniell0:00:10.391 
7Chris Pritchard0:00:10.687 
8Lewis Oliva0:00:10.688 
9Kian Emadi0:00:10.744 
10Miles Stovold0:00:10.867 
11John Paul0:00:10.886 
12Callum Skinner0:00:10.942 
13Kevin Stewart0:00:10.969 
14Dave Readle0:00:10.983 
15Bruce Croall0:00:11.077 
16Andrew Kelly0:00:11.179 
17Adam Welch0:00:11.296 
18Anthony Gill0:00:11.304 
19Tom Baker0:00:11.310 
20Kenneth Ayre0:00:11.340 
21Tom Powell0:00:11.470 
22Miles Anon0:00:11.490 
23Iewan Williams0:00:11.514 
24Michael Partridge0:00:11.551 
25Rowan Elliott0:00:11.588 
26John McClelland0:00:11.595 
27Maher Al-Ausi0:00:11.619 
28John Coolahan0:00:11.701 
29Ivor Reid0:00:11.714 
30Steve Cronshaw0:00:11.778 
31John Bagnall0:00:11.792 
32James Carlsson0:00:11.815 
33Jack Webb0:00:12.072 
34Andy Stewart0:00:12.082 
35Jonathon Cosh0:00:12.128 
36Neil Withington0:00:12.238 
37Joseph Wood0:00:12.479 
Round 1 - Heat 1
1Chris Hoy  
2Callum Skinner  
Round 1 - Heat 2
1Matt Crampton  
2John Paul  
Round 1 - Heat 3
1Peter Mitchell  
2Miles Stovold  
Round 1 - Heat 4
1Jason Kenny  
2Kian Emadi  
Round 1 - Heat 5
1Ross Edgar  
2Lewis Oliva  
Round 1 - Heat 6
1David Daniell  
2Chris Pritchard  
Repechage - Heat 1
1Callum Skinner  
2Kian Emadi  
3Chris Pritchard  
Repechage - Heat 2
1Lewis Oliva  
2Miles Stovold  
3John Paul  
Quarter Finals - Heat 1 - Race 1
1Chris Hoy  
2Lewis Oliva  
Quarter Finals - Heat 1 - Race 2
1Chris Hoy  
2Lewis Oliva  
Quarter Finals - Heat 2 - Race 1
1Matt Crampton  
2Callum Skinner  
Quarter Finals - Heat 2 - Race 2
1Matt Crampton  
2Callum Skinner  
Quarter Finals - Heat 3 - Race 1
1Peter Mitchell  
2David Daniell  
Quarter Finals - Heat 3 - Race 2
1David Daniell  
2Peter Mitchell  
Quarter Finals - Heat 3 - Race 3
1David Daniell  
2Peter Mitchell  
Quarter Finals - Heat 4 - Race 1
1Jason Kenny  
2Ross Edgar  
Quarter Finals - Heat 4 - Race 2
1Jason Kenny  
2Ross Edgar  
5th-8th Final
5Peter Mitchell  
6Ross Edgar  
7Callum Skinner  
8Lewis Oliva  
Semi Finals - Heat 1 - Race 1
1Jason Kenny  
2Chris Hoy  
Semi Finals - Heat 1 - Race 2
1Jason Kenny  
2Chris Hoy  
Semi Finals - Heat 2 - Race 1
1Matt Crampton  
2David Daniell  
Semi Finals - Heat 2 - Race 2
1Matt Crampton  
2David Daniell  
Bronze Medal Round - Race 1
3Chris Hoy0:00:10.715 
4David Daniell  
Bronze Medal Round - Race 2
3Chris Hoy0:00:10.655 
4David Daniell  
Gold Medal Round - Race 1
1Jason Kenny0:00:10.635 
2Matt Crampton  
Gold Medal Round - Race 2
1Jason Kenny0:00:10.441 
2Matt Crampton  

Men's 4,000m Individual Pursuit

1Peter Kennaugh0:04:25.215 
2George Atkins0:04:30.817 
3Sam Harrison0:04:33.369 
4Mark Christian0:04:37.503 
5Owen Doull0:04:38.411 
6Jon Mould0:04:38.695 
7Mark Holton0:04:39.601 
8Adam Duggleby0:04:41.470 
9Eric Rowsell0:04:42.995 
10Tim Kennaugh0:04:44.176 
11Arthur Doyle0:04:44.444 
12Nino Piccoli0:04:47.257 
13Alistair Rutherford0:04:48.192 
14Richard Lambert0:04:48.585 
15Nicholas English0:04:49.845 
16Xavier Disley0:04:50.588 
17John Brearley0:04:51.849 
18Matt Gittings0:04:51.944 
19Jack Green0:04:52.681 
20Joshua Papworth0:04:54.383 
21Alistair Taylor0:04:55.850 
22Matthew Hamilton0:04:57.060 
23James Hawkins0:04:59.768 
24Bryce Dyer0:05:01.357 
25Andy Stuart0:05:02.000 
26Derek Timmins0:05:06.032 
27Joshua Yetman0:05:09.034 
28David Brearley0:05:09.900 
29Mark Brown0:05:16.123 
Bronze Medal Round
3Sam Harrison0:04:38.387 
4Mark Christian0:04:39.011 
Gold Medal Round
1Peter Kennaugh0:04:27.112 
2George Atkins0:04:31.956 
Women's Scratch Race Final (60 laps)
1Anna Blyth  
2Harriett Owen  
3Dani King  
4Ruby Miller  
5Helen Scott  
6Laura Trott  

Related Articles

Back to top