Baloise Belgium Tour: Evenepoel takes overall victory

Coquard wins crash-hit sprint finish

Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep) secured overall victory at the Baloise Tour of Belgium, despite going down in a late crash as the sprinters fought for the stage victory.

Bryan Coquard (Vital Concept) won the sprint by taking a wide line as other sprinters clashed with each other.

Evenepoel rode the finish alone, with a hole in his shorts but a smile on his face, knowing he was to be crowned the overall winner. The 19-year-old revelation won stage 2 and then defended his lead in the final stages with strong support from Deceuninck-QuickStep.

Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal) finished second overall at 52 seconds, with his teammate Tim Wellens third overall at 2:02 but Deceuninck-QuickStep won again, taking their 37th victory of the season. 

“I’m obviously delighted to win. It’s an amazing feeling, it hasn’t sunk in yet,” Evenepoel said.

It was a little bit difficult with what happened in the final sprint. But that’s okay; it’s a huge relief to get over the finish and win, without any of teammates being harmed.

“I’m going to be the youngest winner of the Tour and that’s a great achievement, I’m thrilled. The team again did well to make sure nobody got away again on the final flat stage. I have to thank them for the work they did.

Brief Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bryan Coquard (Fra) Vital Concept-B&B Hotel3:17:15 
2Pierre Barbier (Fra) Natura4Ever - Roubaix Lille Métropole  
3Emīls Liepins (Lat) Wallonie-Bruxelles  
4Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Israel Cycling Academy  
5Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions  
6Jonas Rickaert (Bel) Corendon-Circus  
7Gijs Van Hoecke (Bel) CCC Team  
8Corné Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions  
9Davide Martinelli (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep  
10Kevin Van Melsen (Bel) Wanty-Gobert  
Final General Classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Remco Evenepoel (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep15:49:17 
2Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:52 
3Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:02:22 
4Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:28 
5Andreas Lorentz Kron (Den) Riwal Readynez Cycling Team0:02:29 
6Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates  
7Bryan Coquard (Fra) Vital Concept-B&B Hotel  
8Loïc Vliegen (Bel) Wanty-Gobert0:02:38 
9Aimé De Gendt (Bel) Wanty - Gobert Cycling Team0:02:29 
10Pieter Weening (Ned) Roompot-Charles  

Related Articles

Back to top