Women's Prestige Cycling Series names teams for Bermuda GP

The top ten teams in the US-based Women's Prestige Cycling Series following the International Tour...

The top ten teams in the US-based Women's Prestige Cycling Series following the International Tour de 'Toona are headed for the CD&P Bermuda Grand Prix (September 22-25). Each team will receive a generous travel grant and assistance with housing. On top, Webcor Builders is continuing to demonstrate impressive depth, leading second place Quark Cycling by 461 points. They also have two riders in the top five overall and the top two riders in the Best Young Rider competition.

In the individual Standings, Christine Thorburn's (Webcor Builders) second place finish at the Tour de Toona, a mere 1 second behind Geneviève Jeanson, may have put the overall series win out of the reach of her competition. Thorburn's wins at the PoolGel Redlands Classic and the Nature Valley Grand Prix, combined with second place points in Altoona, give her a 211 point lead over Quark's Annette Beutler. With 220 points on the line for the win in Bermuda, Beutler could still take the overall series, but only if Thorburn failed to finish in the top 40 at the Series' finale. However, the competition for the other podium spots remains hot, with just over 100 points separating the next four riders.

Erinne Willock (Webcor Builders) claimed an unassailable lead in the series' Best Young Rider competition when she took fifth place overall at the Tour de Toona. Along with her current fourth place in the overall Series standings, the youngster is clearly a rider to watch for the future. This will be Willock's second year as the top young rider in the Series. However, like the individual competition, the other podium positions remain up for grabs.

Sprinters are also recognized by the Women's Prestige Cycling Series. Ina Teutenberg (T-Mobile) retained her lead by winning the Tour de' Toona's sprint competition. Quark is also showing well in the sprint competition, with three riders in the top five, including the dynamic duo of Tina Pic and Laura Van Gilder in second and third. Gina Grain (Victory Brewing), last year's winner of the Series sprint competition, is currently in fourth.

Standings after race 3

More information: www.womencyclists.com

Back to top