WBR-Siren Bicycles adds Wallenfels and Harris

Team World Bicycle Relief-Siren Bicycles added two more endurance riders to its team for 2009 with...

Team World Bicycle Relief-Siren Bicycles added two more endurance riders to its team for 2009 with Lynda Wallenfels and Dave Harris.

"Lynda and Dave represent what endurance mountain bike racing is all about," said Brendan Collier of Siren Bicycles. "Their accomplishments on the dirt are only eclipsed by their considerable support of the sport and its athletes. We are very excited to welcome them to the team."

"Coach Lynda" recently won the 24 Hours of the Old Pueblo, completing 16 laps on a singlespeed, a result that put her on equal laps with the fourth-placed solo man. Together with Harris, in 2008 they became the first-ever open mixed team to finish TransRockies on singlespeeds while riding to third place overall on the GC.

"I've been riding a Siren for about a year," Harris said, "so to be part of all this is pretty exciting. We've more or less taken the stance lately that we'd rather not actively pursue sponsorship because we just don't like to promote stuff we don't love."

When not racing, Wallenfels is coaching other endurance riders, and the pair is passionate about self-supported endurance events, promoting the annual 370-mile Trans-Utah and holding men's and women's current course records for both singlespeed and geared for the 142-mile Kokopelli Trail. Harris also holds the record for the 342-mile Grand Loop race (geared) and the Kaibab Monster Cross (both geared and singlespeed).

For 2009, the new team members will focus on the 24-Hour National Championships in Moab, Utah, in addition to several other geared and singlespeed races throughout the year.

The WBR-Siren Bicycles team is part of the organization's "Grassroots" campaign, in which athletes and teams support the organization's work providing bicycles for better healthcare, education and economic development.

Team World Bicycle Relief-Siren Bicycles for 2009: Lynda Wallenfels, Dave Harris, Dan Brennan, Todd Carpenter, Brad Majors, Chris Strout, Craig DeAmbrose and Stephen Janes.

Back to top