Van Avermaet extends WorldTour lead with Gent-Wevelgem victory

Quick-Step Floors top team with BMC second

Gent-Wevelgem victory has extended Greg Van Avermaet's position atop the WorldTour rankings with the BMC rider leading Peter Sagan 1498 to 1215 points. The win was Avermaet's third of the 2017 WorldTour following his Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and E3 Harelbeke victories.

In Spain, Alejandro Valverde's Volta a Catalunya victory has elevated the Movistar rider into 11th place on 579 points. In the team standings, Quick-Step Floors are leading on 4131 points with BMC second on 3663 points.

Second place overall in Catalunya also saw Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) move up the rankings and slip into third place on 823 points. Despite not racing in Spain or Belgium during the week, Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) and Richie Porte (BMC) hold onto their fourth and fifth places overall.

BMC, who were the first leader's of the team rankings, are second overall to Quick-Step Floors on 3663 points with Orica-Scott third as the only other team with more than 3000 points. At the other end of the rankings, Team Dimension Data sit bottom with just 700 points from the 12 events so far in 2017. 

The Tour of Flanders on April second is the next WorldTour event on the calendar with 500 points awarded to the winner. The Tour of the Basque Country then follows from April 3-8 with 400 points to the overall winner. 

WorldTour Rankings - March 27

#Rider Name (Country) Team 
1Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team1498 pts
2Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora–Hansgrohe1215 
3Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek–Segafredo823 
4Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky820 
5Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team812 
6Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors785 
7Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors670 
8Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team660 
9Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team620 
10Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky607 
11Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Movistar Team579 
12Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb541 
13Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale520 
14Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica–Scott517 
15Dan Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors495 
16Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica–Scott473 
17John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek–Segafredo450 
18Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha–Alpecin440 
19Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica–Scott422 
20Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ412 
21Nathan Haas (Aus) Team Dimension Data400 
22Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica–Scott390 
23Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors389 
24Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora–Hansgrohe385 
25Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates376 
#Rider Name (Country) Team 
1Quick-Step Floors4131 pts
2BMC Racing Team3663 
4Team Sky2394 
5Movistar Team2342 
8Team Sunweb1527 
9Team Katusha–Alpecin1344 
13AG2R La Mondiale1101 
15UAE Team Emirates981 
18Team Dimension Data700 

Related Articles

Back to top